Dan in Real Life Review

March 14, 2008 at 7:30 am (Movies)

 

(9.25/10.00) A really good movie that met my expectations, Dan in Real Life is a great sentimental light comedy with a great cast, but it may not be for everyone. The story follows a widower named Dan (Steve Carell), with 3 girls he manages but keeps a job at the local newspaper as a Columnist. He meets a girl in a bookstore named Marie, who takes a liking to, but when he goes with his girls to spend some time with the family, he discovers the girl he talked to and the one he told his family about is dating his brother Mitch (Dane Cook). A lot of the greatest scenes in the movie come from the interaction or hiding of meetings between Dan and Marie. They hide their relationship throughout a majority of the movie, and it was fun watching them avoid Mitch. The movie is also a comedy, but the movie isn’t really a heavy comedy like a Ferrel flick, but instead uses comedy every now and then to help lighten the mood or provide a good hearty laugh (Put it on my tab). It wasn’t as funny as I thought it would be, but it was still good. A lot of the funniest scenes come from him and his family’s activities and interactions. Steve Carell really made this movie for me, and the rest of the cast is good as well. Dane Cook is even good in it! The music is good, especially the “Let my Love Open the Door” duet between Dan and Mitch. The movie is just a really good both comedy and drama, that delivers, while being charming. I liked this movie, but I can see some people not liking it, expecting a knock-down drag-out comedy. I would also like to mention that I’m surprised this got a PG13, the swearing was minimal, and there was a little innuendo. Overall, this is a great dramady I guess you could say that makes a great rent. Below is one of the best scenes in the movie.

1 Comment

  1. Dan in Real Life (9/10) « James’ Dojo 3.0 said,

    […] when I first picked up this movie at the store, it was because I know Earl liked it and I thought I would give it a try. … Ok, I lied…I was just wondering why Steve Carell […]

Leave a Reply

