Double Play-The Pursuit of Happyness & Good Burger

March 21, 2008 at 8:02 pm (Movies)

 

Two of my favorite movies ever, these two are very different, but oh so good.

One of my favorite movies of all time, The Pursuit of Happyness is an emotional tale of one man striving to get a better life for his son. The story follows Chris Gardner, a man with one son and a girlfriend, who struggles to make ends meet, but then when his girlfriend leaves him and, on his own will, take care of his son, he has an even harder time getting along. I have got to say, the perfomance by Will Smith in this movie as a father wanting his child to remember him well is phenomenal, not to be missed. It brought me to tears at times, and left me rooting for the ultimate underdog. Smith’s son plays Gardner’s son in the movie, providing for some ultra-realistic scenes. The movie also has a great sense of detail set in the 198os. I might warn that the movie’s language can be a little coarse, with a use of the F word and a few others, but it makes for a great film none the less. I highly recommend this film, and promise you will at least like this film.

5 out of 5

Welcome to Good Burger, home of the Good Burger, can I take your order? The classic lines uttered by Ed, the greatest employee in Good Burger history. This is another great classic movie, showing us the great things that can come from summer jobs, patty wagons, and really big burgers. The movie follows Dexter (Kenan Thompson), a high school student who needs a job after wrecking the family car. He then gets a job at Good Burger with Ed (Kel Mitchell), who takes him under his wing, leading them across all sorts of crazy adventures. The movie showcases the greatness of the Kenan and Kel duo, and provides some great moments. I strongly recommend this movie, whether it be a rent or a buy. (I have it on VHS!)

5 out of 5

3 Comments

  1. dragonshensei said,

    You’ve already gavce a review for Goodburger and the Pursuit of Happiness already on this site.

  2. earl said,

    No I don’t. You may be mistaken for Part 2. I checked all of my Movies posts, it wasn’t there.

  3. nolanator said,

    I like both of those movies.

Leave a Reply

