Drillbit Taylor Review

March 26, 2008 at 3:48 pm (Movies)

I honestly hope I am never transferred to the high school where these kids attended. The bullies there are psycho! It’s like Iraq there! Anyway, fears aside, this movie didn’t really amaze me, but yet was still fun to watch. The movie follows three freshmen in High School, Ryan, Emmit, and Wade, who are having trouble with the school bully, one played by Josh Peck who we haven’t seen in years in movies, besides Nickelodeon. He has really changed since the old days of Drake and Josh. Anywho, the kids have a lot of trouble with these bullies, and they eventually decide to hire a bodyguard, being one of the funniest scenes in the movie. They end up with Drillbit Taylor, an a-wall homeless soldier on the run. He ends up not only protecting them, but also helping them in other areas, like confidence. The kids that play the teenagers did okay performance wise, but Owen Wilson was probably the funniest in the bunch as their Yoda, the kids had funny moments, but he probably had a little more, with great lines like “I FEEL NO PAIN!” The movie is produced by Judd Apatow, who is known for big movies like the 40 Year Old Virgin, Talladega Nights, Superbad, etc., I’m usually not a big fan of his movies, although I thought what I saw of 40 Year Old Virgin was funny. This movie’s a little calmer than the others, you can tell he kinda toned it down for teenagers, however the movie was still pretty raunchy, with a lot of language, definitely not for kids. The was also a litttle too long, going as long as I Am Legend, just dragging on too long in some areas, spending too much time here and there. It just should have been a little shorter and been more fast paced. The movie had some great moments, but was just a little too long and raunchy for me. The main thing I liked about it was that it was fun. I recommend this to Comedy fans, or anyone looking for a fun movie to see on a Friday night, or even a good rent.

3 1/2 out of 5

4 Comments

  1. dragonshensei said,

    You didn’t even give it a rating.

  2. earl said,

    Fixed

  3. nolanator said,

    I really want to go see this movie. I was going to see it last week but I had a death in the family.

  4. earl said,

    It’s a good comedy, but I wouldn’t make a special trip to go see it. It’s not that good.

Leave a Reply

