Which Would you Rather Have?

March 29, 2008 at 5:48 pm (Talk to Me, Video Games)

 

I was thinking today, and it’s partially related to James’ Athletes, Not Heroes post, but I was wondering why great games like Psychonauts receive great reviews, are so much fun to play, are an absolute blast, are ignored by the gaming public and thus have low sales numbers, yet big game franchises that get trashed by critics are cranking out sequels before you can finish the first one. Really, I would have stood on the street side and publicized Psychonauts if it meant Tim Schafer would receive the funds to make the sequel. Come on, Psychonauts was a strange game, a little outside the box, but that’s why it was fun, and why it was so clever and fun. While these other games use the same tried and failed formula to make all of their games. I loved Psychonauts, and recommed it to anyone looking for a long and fun gaming experience, and I also recommed that gamers out there research the games that they’re going to buy so we can maybe give the underdogs out there the recognition they deserve. Got a game you wanna see a sequel to that flew under the radar? Let me know.

4 Comments

  1. dragonshensei said,

    I want to see a sequel to Okami.

  2. earl said,

    They’re remaking it for the Wii, but no sequel is being made. Good example.

  3. The James said,

    uh, the video is no longer available.

    I think part of it is because many gamers are to stubborn to try anything outside of their little FPS circle of games. Also, it is easy to judge a game by its cover. (I’m guilty of that too!)

    Personally, I would love to see another monkey island….one like the third one (the best in the series) …for the wii!!!….and nothing like the fourth one (the worst one in the series…MONKEY ISLAND IS NOT A 3D GAME!!!….AND WHO CARES ABOUT HOW MONKEYS FIGHT!)

  4. Hashmeer said,

    Srry, DS, the place that made Okami stopped existing. I mean it.

Leave a comment