Alvin and the Chipmunks Review

April 7, 2008 at 5:57 am (Movies)

Watching Alvin and the Chimpmunks, I really didn’t think I was going to like it. In fact, I was pretty sure I would dislike it. The only redeeming quality I saw was that it had Earl Hickey himself, Jason Lee, who was the my favorite part of the movie. I kept wanting him to tame the chipmunks but then start yelling at Randy for sticking his tongue to a bug zapper, and go mark something off his list. However, this movie follows a different story. Alvin, Simon, and Theodore are three cute little chipmunks that can sing, who coincidentally end up with Dave Seville, a struggling song writer. They tell you who does the voices for the ‘munks at the beginning of the movie, but they could have said Jay London did the voice for all three, I wouldn’t have been able to tell the difference. The voices can be very squeaky and kind of annoying at times. Like I said earlier, my main enjoyment came out of the human in the movie, Jason Lee, who did well for a kids movie. The movie provides a few good laughs for the kids, and even a few the older people will enjoy. I actually enjoyed this movie, even though I really thought I wouldn’t. If you have a younger kid in the family, chances are you’ve already seen it. But if you’re a family and you want a cute movie to see, this isn’t a bad choice.

3 1/2 out of 5

5 Comments

  1. dragonshensei said,

    I’m going to rent this when I get the chance.

  2. nolanator said,

    I agree with you, it is a kids movie.

  3. dragonshensei said,

    I think the DUH come to mind.

  4. earl said,

    It’s totally a kid’s movie, but unlike Horton Hears a WHo, it produces some laughs that the older people will get. I kinda liked it.

  5. The James said,

    less stupid than I thought it would be….but that don’t say much.

    Kids love it though

Leave a Reply

