Let Me Recommend A Movie For Ya…

April 11, 2008 at 1:42 pm (Movies, The Way Earl Sees It)

Sitting here now in my Journalism class, overhear several conversations, not that I’m an eavesdropper, but because I am observant, if that’s what you want to call it. A lot of the things I hear I can’t repeat on this PG-rated site, but sometimes I hear some things that spike my interest, and cause me to instantly form an idea in my head and then post it here, as I am now. I hear people a lot of times recommending movies to other people, most of the time because of where I live movies like Talladega Nights or other movies that kinda fit into our Southern culture but aren’t necessarily the best movies. People love these movies, and yet I can’t see why. Before you can comment, I know, people have different tastes in movies. Some like movies colely based on the fact there are a couple of cute and furry animals on the front, others may buy a movie just because they love to see Will Ferrell think he’s on fire. Some may even buy movies just because a friend recommends it. I don’t have a problem with this. If you enjoy a movie just based on those aspects, that’s fine. I’m different. I like to hear about a movie, get hyped up for a movie, get some interest in it, go see it if it has something interesting enough, if not, rent it. I might even buy a movie if I really like it. It just kinda feels weird sitting aside when you hear people recommend if it is (in your opinion) the worst movie you’ve ever seen, or when noone even mentions that one golden gem of the weekend.

3 Comments

  1. The James said,

    well, here is the problem: where we live, people have really bad taste. I don’t just mean in movies…I mean in everything.

  2. earl said,

    Yea, that’s kinda what I meant. But people reading this may not live in the south, and I didn’t want to get too specific, so I didn’t really mention how if you live in the South everyone will have horrible taste.

  3. The James said,

    Here is the thing…the southern part of the united states (namely Tennessee and Alabama) is filled with STUPID REDNECKS!!! The stereotypes (spelling?) are pretty much true. If you are not careful, you will catch the stupid.

Leave a Reply

