Earl’s Tunes-Big Yellow Taxi, Renegade, Stand

April 19, 2008 at 3:39 pm (Music)

This is a new little series I’m starting where I share some of my favorite songs and their music videos. The first edition is (one of my new favorite bands) Counting Crows “Big Yellow Taxi”, in a more rock song, Chris Daughtry’s Version of “Renegade”, and “Stand” by the very inspirational Rascall Flatts. Each time I’ll do one of these I’ll also showcase an old classic, this time it’s “Under Pressure” by Queen and David Bowie.

 

32 Comments

  1. dragonshensei said,

    1.Okay.
    2. It says video not available.
    3.Me like!
    4.Uhm………weird.

  2. earl said,

    #2 works fine on my computer, try again. Obviously you’re not a big Counting Crows fan, but how can you think Under Pressure is weird?

  3. dragonshensei said,

    Nope still says unavailable.
    Music was okay, video was weird.

  4. earl said,

    It works fine on mine. I had just downloaded a Monk Tribute with that song, got me into it.

  5. The James said,

    1. It was ok.
    2. Not Avalible
    3. Even though, I usually hate all things country with a passion that cannot be described with words…this was …. kinda ok
    4.That was totaly freakin awesome!

  6. dragonshensei said,

    Rascal Flatts rocks. We can handle some country music. Hate Big n Rich and people like that, they’re the reason people think the South is full of morons. (Half og that is true though, but the South has a couple of smarts in a crowd of dums.)

  7. The James said,

    I hate EVERYTHING country, not just the music.

    Southern People are stupid for the most part. (I think it is something in the water)

    And if any southerners see this and get mad, I AM FROM THE SOUTH AND I KNOW WHAT I AM TALKING ABOUT! IF YOU DON’T SEE IT THEN YOU ARE PROBABLY ONE OF THEM!!!

  8. earl said,

    I know a lot of Southern people, and a lot of them are really nice. She likes to be southern, and she’s smarter than me. If you’re a southern person who is rude and loud, you’re not as good as a person, but if you’re like her and some others I know, you’re good in my book.

  9. earl said,

    I know some wonderful southern people. Do you think Northern people are just the most wonderful people on Earth? Where on Earth will you find a perfect nice race of people? It’s like this everywhere, there are nice people like her, and bad people.

  10. dragonshensei said,

    James that’s just plain mean. I hate to say this but you have no right to attack southern people like that. It’s wrong and you should be ashamed of yourself.We have family members that have southern accents and they’re the nicest people in the world. We can handle so much of your barbs. Quite insulting southerns so much, because it also means you’re insulting our family. Plus, it’s a known fact southern people are nicer than people from the North. I’m not necessarily defending the South. Some hecks we just want to kick between the legs because of their stupidyness.

  11. dragonshensei said,

    It also means you’re insulting Nolanator, our best friend(all of you guys are our best friends.We don’t like to chose.)and cousin. We stick up for our family. He’s a great guy and a wonderful friend to have,but he has a southern accent and likes Larry the Cable Guy.From what you just said James, we would rather be southren than someone like you.

  12. The James said,

    There is a HUGE difference between being nice and being smart. I know a lot of nice idiots. Also, it is not so much that only people here are stupid. Stupid people are everywhere. I am just saying that the in the south you find a special flavor of stupid. There are quite a few smart people here, but they are being drowned out by the southern brand of stupidity.

    One time I said that I was ashamed to be from the south. Someone responded by saying that I need to shut up and be proud. This person said that I needed a history lesson….the thing is, it is our history that makes me ashamed. Not only did we own slaves, but WE FOUGHT FOR THE RIGHT TO OWN THEM….WE MADE THEM FIGHT FOR OUR RIGHT TO OWN THEM!!!

    In the south, there is still this prejudice. Also, people in the south rarely are open to new ideas (unless the idea is really bad)

    Bottom Line: I think our world is filled with stupid ignorant people. I think we are all doomed. I just dislike the southern brand of stupid more than the northern.

    About 80-85% of the population if filled with people who just don’t have the curiosity that makes the human race great.

  13. dragonshensei said,

    Our friendship is over. I warned you.

  14. dragonshensei said,

    In my eyes James, you’ve gone too far this time. I’m not saying you need to change your veiw. I agree with you on the history lesson thing, that whole idiot thing has taken it over the edge.

  15. The James said,

    dude, I did not even read that comment about your cousin. Look, I am sorry. I did not mean to offend you.

    I am just saying that people seem to have lost the ability to create, the need to learn, the desire to discover. They just sit there. That is why I love to hang out with you, earl, colt, babcom5, and occasionally nolanator (or at least visit his site) you guys still have those qualities. You never stop dreaming. You don’t conform. You are not just another person.

    I admit, I was a little harsh. I just get really upset when I think about what our world is coming to. I have family that I love with all my heart that are as southern as can be. I am even relatively southern. (I speak with a real strong accent and say “reckon” way too much)

    I just don’t like what people are becoming. People are losing all respect. Art has been overshadowed by greed. Love has been overpowered by lust. Sometimes I look around the halls at school (or the cafeteria) and wonder what has happened to us. What have we, as a people, become.

    The main reason that I pick out southern people in particular, is that they seem to want to stick to their ways so much. They conform so easily. They wear rebel flags and say that the people who find offense in them “need a history lesson”.

    I was not trying to make it sound like I am smart and everyone else is stupid. (lord knows I have had more than my fair share of stupid moments) I am just saying that people have become blinded. They don’t see what is right in front of them.

  16. The James said,

    Please, don’t be mad. I over exaggerated. That is how I am, I take everything to extremes. When I am mad, I am furious. When I am sad, I am miserable. When I am happy, I am overly estatic. (I mean really, how many times have you heard me decribe something as “the best in the world” in the past week…exactly)

  17. The James said,

    I am sorry.

  18. dragonshensei said,

    Forgiven. I guess.

  19. The James said,

    thank you!

    I really am sorry.

    I really need to learn to think before I type. I also probably need to control my emotions (particularly anger) better. I need to stop insulting people. By putting others down I am just lowering myself and becoming a jerk.

    So, uh… are we cool?

  20. dragonshensei said,

    Yes we are cool.

  21. The James said,

    YING!

    uh, hey earl, can you please delete all this? Like, everything after comment #7?

  22. earl said,

    Not after I have my moment. I went to sleep at about 11:00. It’s funny how this all gets down to something completely unrelated, then ties back into the original post. Why don’t you guys watch Big Yellow Taxi again? Or Stand? Like I said earlier, I love some Southern people, I love that you can go to my Grandma’s house anytime of day and get a great homecooked meal, how mom always wishes you a good day, how I can say yes sir, no sir, thank you mam, without feeling awkward, habit I guess. (I personally feel great whenever someone I say “sir” to says don’t call me sir man) There are some Southern people I could do without-Take the people in Journalism for instance. That’s like my pet peeve of Southern people, the rebel flag. I strongly disagree with anyone who thinks the South should have won. A lot of the great Southern people I love don’t believe that. Anywhere you go there will be people that believe ridiculous things and act dumb, that’s just how ours are.

  23. The James said,

    “I love that you can go to my Grandma’s house anytime of day and get a great homecooked meal” – … I miss my granny 😥 … oh, well. My granny is like that and so it Danny’s mom. She made me spaghetti last night!

    “There are some Southern people I could do without-Take the people in Journalism for instance.” – I seriously dislike some of those people

    That’s like my pet peeve of Southern people, the rebel flag. I strongly disagree with anyone who thinks the South should have won. A lot of the great Southern people I love don’t believe that. Anywhere you go there will be people that believe ridiculous things and act dumb, that’s just how ours are.

    – lol … it is kinda funny. Very few of our tends come from the south. Almost all of them come from the north, the west, or colt (even though nobody down here will admit to any of those) if we were our own country, it probably would be a third world country. I just can’t imagine the people who fought four our right to own slaves being prosperous. I mean think about it! We had farms…that’s it. Who did we sell all crops to? The north! Where did we get all of our technology? The North! Back then, the system was that we grow the food, the north pays us and invents equipment to make farming easier. The north could do without the south, but the south needed the north to survive. It was like the political equivalent of a spoiled little child throwing a hissy fit…a really bloody hissy fit. The fact that people admire that just shows how … uh … ‘special” they have become. (or at least that is my take on the civil war)

  24. The James said,

    yes, I agree!

  25. earl said,

    It’s okay if you weren’t wanting to, I don’t care. It’s fine if you don’t want to.

  26. twisted dragonshensei said,

    Of course we want to see Iron Man! Who doesn’t? I made that suggestion today remember?Haven’t had the time to ask her. She’s not even home yet.

  27. earl said,

    Okay, just by the way you said it it sounded like you didn’t want to or I was inviting myself. Cool then.

  28. earl said,

    Try this new video.

  29. twisted dragonshensei said,

    We have it works and rocks!

  30. The James said,

    I liked his version or renegade, but the original is better.

  31. twisted dragonshensei said,

    Delete those stinkin comments will ya!

  32. earl said,

    Styx version is way better, but Daughtry did it well.

Leave a Reply

