Delayed Again!

May 6, 2008 at 2:20 pm (The Way Earl Sees It, Video Games)

 

Many of you into gaming should be familiar with gaming delays. These are, of course, delays that occur when the “supposed date” isn’t the “right date” and the game gets pushed off another month or so. This has got to be one of my biggest pet peeves in gaming. James, I know you’re gonna jump down my throat with this, but it’s worth stating. I have no problem with a developer saying “We’ll have it in 2 or 3 years”, but when you say “We’ll have it in a year!” I expect it in a year. I don’t expect you to day 1 year and then delay it over and over and over and over until I don’t care about it any longer. It may be a little bug before the launch that needs a month to fix, but delaying a game 5 times for “little bugs”, no, I don’t think so. It’s a matter of getting gamers hopes up cough *Brawl* cough, and then delaying it 6 or 7 times, your hopes get tired, and those of you who know me/go to school with me know I get my hopes up a lot. It just hurts getting your hopes up every potential date for something that never comes. I work on the school paper , and when we say a date, we mean it, it comes out on that day. Developers, when you schedule a game for release, do everything in your power to make that release, don’t disappoint the gaming public. I know you want the best quality, just don’t give us false hope.

4 Comments

  1. twisted dragonshensei said,

    Oh well, can’t help it.No reason to fret over it.

  2. earl said,

    But game makers can stop it!

  3. The James said,

    Here is the situation the way I understand it:

    The developers don’t schedule the date, the publisher does. The publisher sets these “milestones” and says “by this date you have to be this far complete.” That is how the release dates are set.

    The milestones however are nearly impossible half of the time. Ever heard of “Crunch Time?” It is when the programmers work 60-80 hour work weeks to get the milestone completed on time. Even still, if the milestones are sometimes impossible. So, the date has to be changed. (If the first few milestones are not completed in time, the project may be shut down)

    So, don’t blame the developer, they work as hard as they can and don’t have any real say in the date. Blame the publisher, they don’t care about the developer as long as they get their money.

  4. twisted dragonshensei said,

    We do though, want to play Prototype.

Leave a Reply

