I (Where’s the Heart Key?) Gamestop

June 1, 2008 at 4:33 pm (Video Games)

Today I walked into Gamestop, Orange Julius in hand, to check out the new releases and see if any good demos were available. I usually like Gamestop, I mean the staff is usually friendly and it has a nice nerdy atmosphere that feels comfortable. But today it really hit me how great Gamestop is. I came up to the register and was looking through the catalog of games available for pre-order, when one of the nice sales clerks started up a conversation with me, asking me the typical question required of them “Can I help you” blah blah blah, but then I mentioned a game and the conversation took off, which really surprised me. The people at Gamestop aren’t like the employees at Wal-mart, people that don’t know what they’re talking about most of the time. The people at Gamestop are gamers, they are people that you know go home and play video games, that actually know what they’re talking about, something I really appreciate. I got into a great gaming conversation with not one but two employees while I was there, talking about Guitar Hero 4 and Guitar Hero: Aerosmith, and it actually being an intellectual, gaming conversation. I bought a multitap for my PS2 (with Guitar Hero 4 in mind) and pre-ordered Secret Agent Clank for $15. Money well spent. I love Gamestop now, and will try to make any and all possible video game purchases there. 

11 Comments

  1. The James said,

    Gamestop is awesome! I don’t like it when people bad mouth it! It is also convienent. I bought metroid prime 3 in one town, then when it was broken, I exchanged it at another gamespot in a diffrent town. I even got a discount cause I had my card with me and ended up buying links crossbow training for &11 instead of the $20 on the price tag!!!

    Plus, the online service it great. I ordered metroid prime 1 and got it in a couple of days…wrapped in bubblewrap…I love bubblewrap.

  2. The James said,

    but, have you ever noticed that all the gamestops (or at least all o fthem that I have been to) are near a wal mart?

  3. earlman27 said,

    I went to the one near the mall.

  4. The James said,

    In Columbia? It is in the mall…and the mall is right next to wal-mart.

  5. earlman27 said,

    No, Florence.

  6. The James said,

    ah…I thought it was near a wal-mart too….

  7. earlman27 said,

    The one in Columbia is in a mall right next to Wal mart, but I don’t know if that would count. There’s one in Savannah right next to a Wal mart in a plaza, there’s one in Lawrenceburg right next to a Wal mart in a plaza, the one in Florence is in a mall and the other is next to Target.

  8. nolanator said,

    I don’t usually go to GameStop but of course, I’m not a big gamer.

  9. earlman27 said,

    I combine movies and video games. I’m an all-around kinda guy. Except books, who wants to learn? I just wanna see stuff blow up and the Joker laugh maniacally.

  10. The James said,

    “The one in Columbia is in a mall right next to Wal mart, but I don’t know if that would count.”

    Its close enough.

    Forgot bout the one next to target. Come to think of it, I don’t even know for sure where the wal-mart in florence is…I shop at the K-Mart there. (K-MART IS DA BOMB!!!)

  11. earlman27 said,

    Target’s way better. K mart’s all dirty and vacant.

    “The one in Columbia is in a mall right next to Wal mart, but I don’t know if that would count.”
    Its close enough.

    I meant that it’s in a mall, and just because it’s in a mall next to a Walmart doesn’t mean it’s a Gamestop next to Walmart.

Leave a Reply

