Disturbia Review

June 17, 2008 at 4:15 pm (Movies)

First Shia Lebouf is fighting robots and saving the Earth, this time he’s saving his neighborhood. As I’m this, he’s fighting with Indiana Jones! When will this guy stop? Anyway, for any Shia Lebouf or horror fan looking for a good thriller, this is definitely a great pick. The story basically follows (I started to put Sam Witwicky) Kale Brecht, a teenager who, after his father’s death, gets into some trouble and ends up being put under house arrest, where his boredom reaches no limit. He ends up spying on his neighbors, memorizing routines and schedules of others, and even discovering some secrets, including a murder plot. The idea may sound a little outlandish in concept, but comes across realistically. I’m not usually one for horror movies, but I found myself actually enjoying this movie. The characters felt real, and you sort of cared if they lived or died. The movie also, at several times, has you sitting on the edge of your seat, while other times giving you a good laugh, balancing out well. At times, there could be some harsh and excessive language, added to the teen feel of the movie, which sort of added up to a film that not everyone will enjoy. Overall, the movie really succeeds at being a good teen thriller, all the while making for a fun ride. I recommend it to any horror or Shia fan. 

4 out of 5 

6 Comments

  1. Ikabi said,

    I think its 5 out of 5

  2. nolanator said,

    I’m not a horror or a Shia fan. I guess I’ll skip.

  3. earlman27 said,

    if so, you wont like this movie.

  4. earlman27 said,

    That’s ok Ikabi, I respect your opinion. I however dont think this movie is quite up there.

  5. The James said,

    Sean…you are the single most pathetic person I have ever seen in my life. You know that, right? I mean, what kind of a loser does nothing but sit at home in front of his computer and post spam comments on other people’s blogs? I mean really, do you think its funny or something?

    You know, I actually pity you. I would hate to have a life so bad that I can only get joy by annoying others. I hope you find happiness somewhere.

    “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you”

  6. The James said,

    Oh, and Earl:

    Did you know that this movie is a modern day retelling of a 1954 Hitchcock film called “Rear Window” about a man with a broken leg who spies on his neighbors then witnesses a man murder his wife?

    I thought this one was pretty good, but “Rear Window” is better.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rear_Window

Leave a Reply

