Be Kind Rewind Review

June 19, 2008 at 5:57 am (Movies)

A movie I was a little unsure of at first, Be Kind Rewind is definitely one of my favorite movies of the year. The story follows Mr. Fletcher (Danny Glover), a man who runs the run-down “Be Kind Rewind” video store, along with his young apprentice Miles (Mos Def), whose friend Jerry (Jack Black) pretty much destroys anything he touches. After being electrocuted severely at the power plant, he accidentally erases several of the VHSs at the store, which prompts the two to “swede” all the tapes, making their own versions. They swede multiple films, including The Lion King, GHostbusters, 2001 A Space Odyssey, Rush Hour 2, Robocop, and my favorite, Driving Miss Daisy. Along the way they run into trouble from the FBI and the city, but it all comes out well. Going into this movie, I’d heard some bad impressions, people thinking it wasn’t that funny or whatever, but I really enjoyed it. It was about as funny as I thought it would be. Jack Black is classic Jack Black in this one, his goofy antics and smart dialogue really shine in this one. Danny Glover is also great, and Mos Def, who I haven’t seen in too many movies, I found to be a very relatable character. The movie really has a nice flow, they don’t play off the “sweding” too much, but they utilize it enough to make it hilarious. This one is also kinda like Dan in Real Life in that, it’s not the funniest movie ever, but it has several good genuinely funny times. Don’t go into it expected the funniest movie you’ve ever seen. There were several funny moments, many of which are during the sweding, although there are other moments that made me laugh. “Just face it, Mr. Fletcher is illiterate!” The Driving Miss Daisy scene was probably the funniest in the movie though. A very comforting thing the movie did was take my mind off some things, it helped me relax and it immersed me. It’s just one of those movies you remember for a while as “just a good, fun movie”. Overall, Be Kind Rewind is one of the most fun, original movies I’ve seen in a while. The comedy is genuine from Jack Black and the gang, and the acting provides good support. I highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys good movies.

5 out of 5

6 Comments

  1. jaid said,

    It’s a pretty good movie. I agree that people should watch this.

  2. The James said,

    I really would like to see it.

    It reminds me of the Amanda show skit about a family who owned a vid store and also “swede” the movies there. “This movie better! Much better!” It was my favroite part of the show, so this should be good too.

  3. earlman27 said,

    I think you would like it James. Just so you know, there’s not that much language at all. It’s a great movie.

  4. nolanator said,

    I want to see this so badly.

  5. twisted dragonshensei said,

    Earl, WHY DID YOU APPROVE THAT JARID COMMENT!
    THAT’S SEAN CONNERY!
    HE’S ON YOUR SITE NOW!

  6. twisted dragonshensei said,

    DIE!

Leave a Reply

