The King of Kong: A Fistful of Quarters Review

June 30, 2008 at 4:28 pm (Movies)

 

Flipping through my DVR I realized I had recorded a movie a while back, entitled The King of Kong: A Fistful of Quarters. The documentary takes a glimpse into the world of competitive arcade gaming, where scores reach the millions in games like Centipede, Asteroids, and the one focused on in this film, Donkey Kong. Steve Weibe is a middle school science teacher who challenges the all time champ Billy Mitchell over and over again, beating each other’s scores back and forth throughout the movie. I really found myself rooting for Steve, the underdog, to beat Billy, who I quickly realized is a jerk. The movie spans about a 1 1/2 time, which is nice, but the movie kinda felt a little repetitive in that it’s just a lot of back and forth scoring. However, the interviews were conducted very well and all of the footage was put together nicely, making for a really good documentary over a very interesting topic. I found myself rooting, booing, and cheering, throughout this movie. I highly recommend it to any video game enthusiast, or to any fan of good entertaining documentaries. However, this one may be harder to find in your local video store, try finding it on TV. 

4 out of 5

4 Comments

  1. nolanator said,

    I hate Documentaries.

  2. Rabscuttle said,

    Hey, agreed, this is an awesome film, but as I’ve commented in other blogs, if you saw the tv version, you NEED to rent the dvd too, and see all the extras, which are fantastic!

    It’s on Netflix, too.

  3. earlman27 said,

    Thanks for the suggestion Rabscuttle, I might give it a try.

  4. The James said,

    I wanna watch it

Leave a Reply

