What’s to Believe?

July 7, 2008 at 1:38 pm (The Way Earl Sees It)

Basically on this site lately, it’s impossible for me to do any post that does not ignite a huge controversy where we might end up arguing about something totally unrelated. In this post I’m gonna state my opinion, because this is my site. I’m not gonna purposely try to offend anyone, I’m just gonna state what I believe to be correct.

I watch a lot of programs on the Discovery Channel, it’s part of my nerd code. However, something has sparked my attention lately. Discovery channel and the History Channel, naturally, ha a lot of science based programs, and one of their newest programs is entitled: The Universe. In one of the programs for this, they start to talk about evolution. “It took 55 million years for the eye to evolve…” So on and so forth. Most likely in this special they’re going to talk about how evolution and how this universe was formed out of the big bang theory, where supposedly all of these complex and brilliantly designed systems came into play by pure accident. Let me set something straight. I’m a Christian of 2 years. I firmly believe that there is a God, and that he created this universe. I understand that some people don’t believe that. However, even if you are an atheist, you have faith. Everyone has faith in something. Christians have the belief that there’s a God, atheists have faith there isn’t. That there’s nothing. A lot of school systems have taken Christianity out. They say “It’s unfair to force beliefs onto the children.” But isn’t atheism a belief system? I don’t wanna see evolution and the big bang theory advertised on TV, and I’m sure a lot of people don’t wanna see Christianity advertised on TV. I think if you’re gonna put something on TV for a broad audience, you might should put it in a neutral perspective. However, if you’re supporting evolution and big bang, you’re out-ruling Christianity and that’s offensive to me. I guess you can’t make everyone happy though.

1 Comment

  1. The James said,

    if you do one, you have to do the other.

Leave a Reply

