10,000 BC Review

July 10, 2008 at 7:41 am (Movies)

Uuughh…..Earl not know what to think about movie…. 10000 BC follows the story of D’Leh, if I’m spelling that right. D’leh Steve(I am so not adding that to safari’s dictionary, let’s just call him Steve) is just your regular caveman, he enjoys hunting, hunting, staring at women and forcing them to love him, and more hunting. One day these slave drivers kidnap “his woman” Evolet, taking her to who knows where, and it’s up to D’Leh Steve and Steve’s friends to help rescue her by traveling what seems like the entire earth. When I was sitting watching this movie, the one thing that continued to pop into my head was “Where are they?” One second there is like this savannah chasing “Mannaks”, next frame they’re in snow, the next they’re in the desert! If you’re looking for a movie with plenty of historical inaccuracies, this is the movie for you. Steve and his African friends that are supposed to be on the other side of the world are great buds, that is until the I-Don’t-Know-What-Race-That-Could-Be Come and kidnap them. Don’t get me wrong, this wasn’t a REALLY BAD movie, it was just kinda bland to me. Yea, I know they’re cavemen, but I would have liked to see more dialogue. I didn’t really care about the characters, to see them live or die, or not that much. The movie spans over an hour and a half, which can kinda felt dragged on. Overall, it’s an action movie. There are mannak chases and spears being thrown and people getting sacrificed, which was the funniest part of the movie. There’s also some romance tossed in, and it’s probably the strongest emotional part of the movie, however I was totally confused at the ending. WHAT HAPPENED, someone, please explain to me how that happens in a non-fictional setting. The movie is very action-y, but just doesn’t offer too much depth, it reminded me a little of Jumper. This movie’s not really good, but it’s not really bad, it’s just one of those right in the middle. If you’re looking for JUST an action movie with not too much plot or depth to it, this is a good choice, if not, go with something like Iron Man. 

3 out of 5

8 Comments

  1. The James said,

    what did you not get about the ending?

  2. earlman27 said,

    The soul woman back in the village bringing the other girl back to life.

  3. The James said,

    she gave up her life force, so the other girl could live.

    Like, trading one life for another…

    …this was not supposed to be a realistic setting. It was magic.

  4. earlman27 said,

    But the rest of the movie followed a realistic tone, then it switches to a supernatural theme.

  5. The James said,

    …uh, what about all that stuff with the prophecy? The first scene was a vision knocking the old woman back across the hut. Or all the historical inaccuracies. I did not think any part of it seemed realistic in any manner…which is what I liked about it.

  6. earlman27 said,

    Okay, I see your point there. Now it does kinda make sense. I wasn’t really paying too much attention to it.

  7. The James said,

    yeah…I was half asleep. 😀

  8. twisted dragonshensei said,

    It was good to me.Worth the rent. Didn’t regret I watched it.

Leave a Reply

