Top Ten Supervillains

July 10, 2008 at 6:04 pm (Comics, Movies, Television, Top Ten)

  

Yes, I know, Nolan did a post just like this. I don’t know if you guys are gonna attack me over this, but instead of attacking me, just let me know if this offends you in some way or if you’d rather not see it up, and I will take it down if you’re request is sound. Thanks. 

In the world of Comics, movies based on comics, and television shows based on comics, there are a lot of superheroes that come through to save the day, however, there are also often times just as many super villains trying to thwart them. Here is my list, along with explanations, of my top ten favorite super villains. *Remember all avid comic readers, I don’t read too many comics, a lot of this is based on the movies and TV shows.

  1. Sylar a.k.a. Gabriel Grey-I had a lot of trouble deciding between him and my #2. I eventually decided Sylar because in the show, he was so well hidden and disguised throughout the first few episodes, and then they finally reveal him a flashback episode, where they show why he is what he is. Sylar is a truly psychopathic villain, he probably goes the farthest any of the villains go just for the sake of adversity. He removes people’s brains and uses that to acquire their abilities, which ends up distorting his own personality, making his truly delusional, and my favorite villain.
  2. The Joker-I was so close to giving it the #1. The Joker is one of Batman’s arch nemesia, creating an ultimate foe by committing all of these horrible deeds, just for the sake of anarchy and chaos, just to corrupt the balance of society. He is also probably one of the best portrayed villains, having a multitude of great actors portray him. 
  3. Magneto-I know I’m gonna get props from James for this one. (Remember James, props are good.) Magneto is a brilliant villain, and is probably the oldest on the list, however the fact that flipped a truck in X3 gave him this spot on the list.
  4. Adam Monroe-Another Heroes Character, Adam was introduced in the second season. He’s an immortal, and has been living for 400 years. Adam worked his way to Texas by conning several people and tried unsuccessfully to unleash a virus that would leave him to be a leader of a new society. 
  5. Two Face-Harvey Dent’s alter ego created in the comics from Maroni’s vengeful acid scarring is one of the saddest villains in my opinion. All he wanted was the good for his city, and instead he is scarred and left to his own vigilante ways to seek revenge.
  6. Doctor Octopus-Otto Octavius, the brilliant scientist who uses his maniacal tentacles to commit crime made his way onto the list based on Alfred Molina’s portrayal in 2004’s Spiderman 2. The villain is just your slack jawed lacky, but is actually a bright mind.
  7. Green Goblin-Another entry made by the film series Spiderman, Willem Dafoe’s portrayal of the Green Goblin in 2002’s Spiderman was psychopathically excellent. 
  8. Venom-I might get some slack for this one from DS. Venom is the alien symbiote that attached itself to several people in the comics, and attached itself to Eddie Brock in 2007’s Spiderman 3. Venom shows off the bad in it’s carrier, so theoretically, there’s a little bit of Venom in all of us.
  9. Sandman-A character who could have made it higher up the list if he would have been a little more fleshed out. Sandman is a truly tragic character who only wants the best for his daughter in 2007’s Spiderman 3. His character is one I really enjoyed watching in the movie, and left a tear in my eye. What? I had been watching Extreme Makeover Home Edition.
  10. Daniel Linderman-The crime boss of Heroes, Daniel Linderman is the ultimate con artist, conning people, and being the messiah for some like Adam Monroe mentioned earlier. Daniel Linderman had the ability to heal, however was ironically killed in his New York office by brain squeeze. 
8 Comments

  1. twisted dragonshensei said,

    I wouldn’t have put Two-Face in since you haven’t seen him in action. But the Joker, he definitely deserves in the top villain ranks.

  2. The James said,

    In the world of Comics, movies based on comics, and television shows based on comics, there are a lot of superheroes that come through to save the day, however, there are also often times just as many super villains trying to thwart them.

    I am pretty sure heroes is not a TV show based off of a comic, but the other way around.

    But, I may be wrong..after all, your the one who watches heroes, not me.

    Horah for Magneto!

  3. earlman27 said,

    Heroes is a totally new series. Not based on anything but Tim Kring’s wonderful imaginiation. They do have comics based on the show though.

    Well I have seen that one clip DS, plus Tommy Lee Jones’ version was good in Batman Forever.

  4. twisted dragonshensei said,

    Please don’t use my real name.Too risky.

  5. earlman27 said,

    Woops

  6. The James said,

    how is using your first name risky?

  7. chris mahapatra said,

    Scorpio of Globex industries is pretty formidable man, he took on the US military, and took control of the East Coast. Amazing.

  8. mk111 said,

    I wouldn’t have put Two-Face, but aside from that I liked the list.

Leave a Reply

