IMAX: The Future of Movies Deafening People

July 14, 2008 at 1:31 pm (Movies, The Way Earl Sees It)

 

One of film’s innovations that started approximately 20 years ago is IMAX, which stands for Image Maximum, is a type of movie going experience that practically doubles the size of the screen for movie goers that are looking for….. how should I say this? Movie going experiences that nearly kill you. Before you attack me, unless you have seen an IMAX movie, you have NO ROOM to talk. I went to a documentary in IMAX when I was on a 5th Grade Beta Trip about 5 years ago and I felt as if my head was going to explode. It was actually really loud and bright and in your face, however the thing that got me was the size of the theater. When you walk in it’s literally walking straight up to get to your seat. The whole documentary, although very quiet (and boring) came across very loud and in your face. Over the years the number of movies being presented in IMAX has increased, and the format has grown in popularity, the original in Canada. Movies over the years  such as Micheal Jordan to the MAX in 2000, Star Wars Episode 2 in 2002, The Matrix Reloaded in 2003, Spiderman 2 in 2004, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire in 2005, Superman Returns in 2006, I Am Legend in 2007, this year’s The Dark Knight and so many more mainstream movies have shown in IMAX theaters across the globe. It kind of frightens me that a movie like a documentary was intense in IMAX, thinking about what a big loud scary action movie would be like. Even though I was younger when I visited that IMAX movie, I still run in fear when I see an IMAX theater in my local mall. Even though IMAX movies have increased in popularity, something tells me these movies won’t go extinct, however will stay just where they are as an INTENSE and LOUD moviegoing experience for years to come, so don’t expect to see your local normal theater over run by IMAX any time soon.

7 Comments

  1. The James said,

    I want to try one!

  2. Matt said,

    its not like back in the day….its not the Omni theather
    where the seats go straight up.

    the IMAX theaters are more like regular theaters with stadium seating.
    yes theres a large screen but its not like what you are thinking of.

    go to a new IMAX theater and you’ll understand, you’re thinking about something thats wayy in the past

  3. earlman27 said,

    I went to an Imax theater 5 years ago, and from what I remember the seats were practically straight up, and the screen wasn’t too large than most theaters, however was very loud.

    I’d like to try one again. I’d like to watch TDK in Imax.

  4. nolanator said,

    Did you go to one with a big screen or one with the ceiling being the screen.

  5. earlman27 said,

    I went to one with a big screen, as far as I know that’s IMAX. However the one with the screen being the ceiling, that reminds me of an observatory.

  6. nolanator said,

    That’s the way it is at the Space and Rocket Center. I saw a movie there.

  7. earlman27 said,

    That’s the same place I went for mine.

Leave a Reply

