It’s Not About Money…Its About Sending A Message…

July 20, 2008 at 4:23 pm (Movies)

The Dark Knight opened this past weekend with not only large critical success, scoring a 94% on Rotten Tomatoes, but it also did fantastic commercially. The movie nearly quadrupled Batman Begins’ original intake at $48 Million scoring a hefty 155 Million dollars it’s opening weekend. This breaks the HUGE record set by Spiderman 3 last year which had 148 Million Dollars. The movie took in 18.5 million at midnight showings, breaking a record there, and then scored 66 Million on Friday. (Selective Memory, you gotta love it.) It’s funny now looking back at movie skeptics saying, “It can score at maybe 70-80 million.” I checked my local theater’s Fandango service several times, 3 showings at midnight had to be offered, and at least one showing sold out Friday and Saturday respectively. I was expecting huge, like maybe $130, but not this huge. This is so far (If I am correct here) the biggest opening weekend of the summer (Eat that Indy 4), and is poised to be the biggest winner of the summer. I honestly believe this movie’s opening weekend success was based on three things:

A) Built-In Batman Fans which are more reliable than Batman’s batarangs.

B) Ledger fans wanting to see his last performance/pay tribute.

C) Curiosity Factor

I hope this movie goes on to continue to make more cash, and get even more positive reviews. You can look forward to seeing my review Tuesday.

4 Comments

  1. earlman27 said,

    Don’t get me wrong, I loved Iron Man. I loved Get Smart. I liked Hancock. But I am so rooting for this movie. I even got a Batman t-shirt for Tuesday!

  2. earlman27 said,

    Also, just so you know, Mamma Mia came in Second with 20 million.

  3. twisted dragonshensei said,

    Lord I hate musicals!But I wasn’t surprised at this. I knew it would do awesome.

  4. nolanator said,

    First Place- 155 mil. Second Place- 20 mil. Kind of a big difference.

Leave a Reply

