Critical Mass with Critical Mass

July 28, 2008 at 9:15 am (The Way Earl Sees It)

You may not have heard of this, but on my ride out for breakfast this morning I came across the news reports for a bicyclist radical group called “Critical Mass” on the my local radio talk show. The group is basically a bunch of bicycle nuts that want to “express that bicycles have just as much right to be on the road as cars”. I don’t have a problem with that, even though I wouldn’t want to ride 150 miles on something powered by… well, me. I prefer my transportation to be engine-powered. Sure, there’s nothing wrong with trying to “express your rights” and what not, however when you cross certain lines, you’ve went too far. The riders have been known to block intersections, cause disruption in what would be normal driving circumstances, and injure car-driving (sane) citizens-

 

On July 25, 2008 Critical Mass bicycle riders were confronted by a motorist who was temporarily being prevented by several cyclists from driving his automobile from a curbside parking space into bicycle traffic on East Aloha on the July 25, 2008 Seattle ride.[33] The distraught motorist backed into at least two cyclists while attempting to leave the scene.[34]

A group of mass riders caught up to the vehicle, broke its rear windshield, and assaulted the motorist inside the car through a broken window, pulling him from the car. At least one cyclist slashed the motorist’s tires. [35] [36] [37] The motorist was struck in the back of his head by an object after being pulled from his vehicle, and taken to a local hospital following the incident for head injuries.[38] Two cyclists were arrested for suspicion of vandalism to the car; the motorist was not considered by the Seattle Police Department to have committed a crime due to several witness accounts.[39]

Sure, there are some reports of car drivers provoking some of the incidents, however in most cases the Bicycle supremacists are going way too far, as in the incident above, which was the one I had heard about on the radio. These bike gang members are going way outta line with these protests. Sure, if you wanna make a point, go ahead. You don’t have to nearly kill a guy to do it though! Even though they claim to be in the right for standing up for their bicycling rights, brutally beating other motorists, slashing tires, and costing thousands of dollars in damage only puts them in the wrong. I personally hope I never run into a section of the gang, I personally am not sure what I would do if I ran into them. I would probably run into them a little more. Let me get this straight. I have no problem with bicyclists. Sure, it’s a little hard to get past them, and a little scary because you think you might hit them, however I don’t have a problem with them. I’ll be honest, yes you do get in the way sometimes. But that’s just because the road was made with lanes big enough for cars, and fast enough for motorcycles. I don’t have a problem with them, as long as they don’t resort to these violent and extreme manners.

What do you think? Do these bicyclist protestors earn the right to destroy property or should they just buy a car and join the rest of us? What would you do if you ran into a group of these radicals? Let me know.

1 Comment

  1. twisted dragonshensei said,

    crazy morons

Leave a Reply

