Riddler, Penguin, and Catwoman-The Dark Knight Sequel Casting Rumors

August 1, 2008 at 8:06 am (Weapons of Mass Enjoyment)

With a third Batman film from Christopher Nolan likely to be in the works soon with the monumental success of The Dark Knight still underway, a lot of people have put speculation into which villains Batman would go up against in the new movies and whoever they may be, who would portray them. Note-None of these villains have been confirmed for the sequel to The Dark Knight, however according to the UK’s The Daily Telegraph, Warner Bros. have targeted them to play them. One of the ideas was for the Riddler to come into play in the sequel, and who other than Johny Depp to portray him. Depp is a very deep actor, in that he can be the very serious, or he can be totally whimsical and silly. In Nolan’s world, he’d have to portray the Riddler sort of like Ledger did with the Joker, which was fantastic. The Riddler’s character in the comics is am obsessive quirky man who has to leave these clues and riddles at the scens of his crimes. He’s a smart man as well, just loves word games and riddles. I believe Johny Depp can totally do it right.

 

The next was Phillip Seymour Hoffman to play the Penguin. Don’t know who Phillip Seymour Hoffman is? Check out the photo above. The Penguin is a mob boss, who has a love for birds and umbrellas, however most likely in Nolan’s world that particular aspect would be dropped. In an IGN article, their idea was for the Penguin to be a crime boss, but for the name “Penguin” just to be used in private, possibly only between mob members and Batman himself. He fancies himself as a “Gentleman of Crime”, and isn’t insane or demented as other Batman villains like the Joker and Two Face are. He uses a string of night clubs as cover for his activities. I totally think Hoffman would be great for the part. Hoffman has starred in movies such as Boogie Nights, Along Came Polly, Mission Impossible 3, and Charlie WIlson’s War.

 

The final one which to me seemed the most unlikely of sorts was the role of Catwoman. This was not a casting rumor or words leaked from any official source, however was a recommendation from Julie Newmar, the woman who played Catwoman on the original Batman television series with Adam West. She said quote “Angelina Jolie would own the part. My industry friends tell me [she] has made inquiries about the role. I can understand how it would pique her interest.” While the idea of the Riddler and the Penguin appearing in the third movie is highly plausible and likely, the idea of Catwoman in Nolan’s world portrayed by Angelina Jolie, would not only bring in the pervert market of 40 year old guys that live in basements and 15 year old boys to the theaters, but I don’t believe would quite mesh with the world. Okay, I’ll admit, I’d wanna see the movie more. I mean, how do you logically and realistically explain a woman dressed as a cat?  

Overall, the sequel to The Dark Knight, one of the best comic book movies in the past few years, may have some trouble living up to the standard set by The Dark Knight, however if some of these casting rumors become reality, I think the sequel can meet expectations. What do you think? Anyone have any other ideas for possible Batman villains, or possible other people to play these infamous characters? Drop a comment and let me know.

98 Comments

  1. nolanator said,

    Johnny Depp!

  2. earlman27 said,

    I think Johny Depp might can pull it off/

  3. nolanator said,

    He can

  4. earlman27 said,

    I’m a little hesitant.

  5. nolanator said,

    I still think he can. He would be better than Catwoman.

  6. The James said,

    Riddler – good idea, jhonny depp would do good.

    penguin – I like this villian, but don’t know who that person is.

    cat woman – did’nt she already have a movie?

  7. nolanator said,

    Yes Catwoman had a movie. It was horrible and flopped at the box-office. Go Johnny Depp!

  8. twisted dragonshensei said,

    No Catwoman, Riddler yeah. Penguin no. I would like to see the Ventroilist, or some other villain they haven’t used in previous Batman sagas.

  9. earlman27 said,

    Here’s the thing. The Ventriloquist is just so ridiculous. He’s a crazy guy with a puppet! How are you gonna ground that in reality in order for it to fit with the Nolan’s Vision? I would love to Hoffman as the Penguin, sure he doesn’t have to be all wabbly and stumpy like Devito’s version, he can just be an eccentric crime boss who goes by that nickname behind closed doors. Depp’s Riddler sounds worth watching, hopefully he won’t try to replicate Ledger’s masterful Joker.

    I would also like to see Catwoman as maybe a minor villain in the first few minutes of the movie, take her out quick. Cmon, don’t tell me you wouldn’t be interested in seeing Angelina Jolie play Catwoman!

  10. dave said,

    oh yeah Riddler!

  11. The James said,

    no catwoman. its a stupid idea, imho.

    penguin or riddler…possibly

  12. earlman27 said,

    I don’t think it’s a dumb idea, I mean they did it well in Batman Returns. Like I said, put her in as some 5 minute villain he takes out quickly. I personally love the idea of the Penguin portrayed by Philip Seymour Hoffman. It just sounds like it would fit perfectly.

  13. nolanator said,

    I say they bring Heath Ledger back from the dead and let him be the Joker again.

  14. The James said,

    it really would be twisted then

  15. earlman27 said,

    That’s not funny Nolan. He was a great actor and I kinda find that disrespectful.

  16. nolanator said,

    Sorry.

  17. firebird said,

    Yeah, I can see Penguin coming into the picture, same with Riddler, but Catwoman? Maybe, just not with Jolie! That would seriously ruin the movies. When will people start realising that she’s not a good actress.
    I can see Depp as the Riddler, but I also heard David Tennant (aka Doctor Who) was interested. I think he’d be AMAZING as the Riddler!

  18. amo said,

    how about zac effron as robbin?

  19. earlman27 said,

    Yes firebird, I know Jolie isn’t that great of an actress, although I heard she was good in Might Heart. However fanboys across america would love to see her in the leather outfit.

    As far as the Robin idea goes, Amo, you are banned from my site. Never come back. Just kidding. That’s a really bad idea though. Nolan has said he hates the idea of Robin.

  20. The James said,

    a gay guy playing a gay guy.

    No; batman does not need anymore gay people who can’t act!

    I double ban you!

  21. nolanator said,

    This isn’t my site so I can’t ban you. I wouldn’t to be honest.

  22. earlman27 said,

    I was just kidding, even though that is a bad idea.

  23. nolanator said,

    That is true.

  24. Steven said,

    James: I hate having to clear this up for James

    Only the Dick Grayson Robin is gay. the Tim Drake is one of the better Robins.

  25. earlman27 said,

    He still wouldn’t fit into the Batman universe as Nolan brilliantly imagined it.

  26. The James said,

    I THINK HE IS GAY!!! GET OVER IT STEVEN!

    Tim, Dick, and the other one are gay. ITS ROBIN!

    Dick is just the gayest…AND HERE IS PROOF!:

  27. nolanator said,

    I don’t care if he’s gay, straight, or both. Don’t put him in any more Batmans.

  28. earlman27 said,

    I honestly don’t wanna see Robin in any Batman movies, and there’s no chance we will with Nolan at the helm. Plus, I do believe that the writers for Batman had no homosexual interpretations intentioned for the characters.

    I honestly don’t care as long as they don’t put him in the movies and put Hoffman in there. I really wanna see Hoffman play the Penguin.

  29. nolanator said,

    Depp as Riddler!

  30. earlman27 said,

    I could live without it.

  31. nolanator said,

    I could live without you.

  32. twisted dragonshensei said,

    shutup Nolan.You too Earl, you two have been at each other’s throats for no reason. Grow Up!

  33. nolanator said,

    Yes sir!

  34. earlman27 said,

    I’m just saying Riddler is livable without. He insulted me. (Obsessed with Johny Depp)

  35. nolanator said,

    Carrey is the best Riddler.

  36. earlman27 said,

    We haven’t seen if Depp can do better.

  37. twisted dragonshensei said,

    Jake you have no say in being obsessed

  38. The James said,

    you go DS! Tell Him!

  39. earlman27 said,

    Neither do you James.

  40. partyboyy10 said,

    Hey Earl, this might sound like a really dumb question but are they gonna replace Heath Ledger’s role as The Joker with someone else?

  41. earlman27 said,

    That’s not a silly question at all. i saw a rumor that said Daniel Day Lewis was going to, however Christopher Nolan has said noone is going to try to replicate that.

  42. partyboyy10 said,

    Oh ok. I just didn’t know because i was so confused at the end of The Dark Knight. I still think it would be hard to imagine someone else playing The Joker. Heath Ledger is, or was, such a talented actor. Yet, i don’t want that to be the last of what we see of The Joker

  43. twisted dragonshensei said,

    James you have no say either.

  44. nolanator said,

    It would be cool seeing Joker again.

  45. partyboyy10 said,

    Yeah i agree man. He such a great villain

  46. earlman27 said,

    Noone should try to replicate Ledger’s brilliantly haunting performance.

  47. partyboyy10 said,

    Earl don’t listen to them. You seem like you know what you’re talking about so ignore these ridiculously immature people. I think they like hearing themselves talk

  48. partyboyy10 said,

    Anyway, can someone explain to me what the ending meant? cause i saw The Dark Knight twice and i am still confused

  49. earlman27 said,

    At the end of TDK, the Joker is most likely taken to Arkham Asylum and Harvey Dent is dead. Harvey killed several people, and because he was Gotham’s only hope to them, Bruce and Gordon decide to pin the murders on Batman, which causes a manhunt to be issued for him, which is why the bat signal is shattered.

  50. partyboyy10 said,

    Oh oh oh. Ok much better thats clears up everything thank you. That sucks though. I wanted to see alot more out of Harvey Dent/Two-Face. And now Batman is officially considered a fugitive?

  51. earlman27 said,

    Yes. Commissioner Gordon sets out a manhunt for him. I believe Batman’s wanted dead or alive maybe. Some have rumored that Dent may be alive. But I mean they hold a funeral for him, he has no superhuman abilities, and he fell quite a ways. Also, Lucius Fox left Wayne Enterprises, as he tells Wayne after their cellphone scheme goes underway.

    Yes, Batman is set up as a fugitive so Gotham can still have hope, even though he’s the one who saved them. No problem, I’ll answer any other questions about the movie. It’s funny considering I only saw the movie once, and it was at 1:00 am.

  52. partyboyy10 said,

    Ahh yeah it looked like it. I can’t wait to see happens to him in the next batman movie. And yeah thats true. I just figured it was the beginning of him (Dent) becoming one of the notorious villains. And what’s up with that! I got confused at that too. I’m guessing Fox is done? He won’t be in the other batman movies?

    Oh gotcha. Haha it is funny how peopl look at him as a bad guy when he’s the one protecting them. Haha wow. See, with movies like this i get lost ya know?

  53. earlman27 said,

    I did too. I really thought they were gonna bring in two face at the very end of the movie, so whenever that part happened, I was totally surprised that it kept going, I thought the movie was over. As far as I know Lucius Fox tells Bruce after they decide to tap cellphones, which was a reference to Bush in some ways, that after this is over, he won’t be there, and that’ll he’ll basically type in a code for it to blow up. That and other people realized he was supplying batman earlier. So we can assume he left as CEO.

    The movie’s ending was great, just genuinely surprising and hard to follow a little.

  54. partyboyy10 said,

    Yeah like i was sort of disappointed cause we only saw like a good 20 minutes of Two-Face and it’ll be the last 20 minutes we’ll see of him. As for Fox, that’s cool. I wonder what Bruce will do for his weapons. That’s if he’s still Batman.

    Exactly. To me it was just too much to take in in a matter of 10 minutes.

  55. nolanator said,

    Yeah, what partyboyy10 said.

  56. nolanator said,

    Keep Morgan Freeman!

  57. partyboyy10 said,

    Haha thank you nolanator.

  58. nolanator said,

    You’re welcome.

  59. earlman27 said,

    That’s true babcom. I just took it as he was leaving, even though he did get into trouble for helping Batman. I hope he comes back as a secret supplier.

  60. partyboyy10 said,

    Me too. Who else would help with his supplies? Alfred?

  61. The James said,

    Earl, I would like to apologize for my previous comments. I acted out of anger and I am sorry. If I was mad about something, I should have confronted you insstead of leaving insane comments on ur blog. please delete them and we can put this mess behind us.

  62. earlman27 said,

    I forgive you James. What you said really hurt me and it hit home with me, it made me question my own character and my own personality flaws that I haven’t quite examined well enough apparently. I’m sorry if I offended anyone, I’m sorry I’m a bad person, I’m gonna try to do better. I know sometimes I can be a pain in the butt worrywart, however I’m just obsessive over a lot of things, it’s in my personality. I’ve just sort of been scared lately about the future. People say the time I’m living in now is the best time of my life, and that scares me to death. Not because I feel I haven’t lived it full enough, it’s because I’m afraid I won’t make the rest of it good enough, that I’ll mess it up. I just wanna make the right decisions. I have enjoyed these past few years, and I have you guys to thank.

  63. partyboyy10 said,

    GOOD ATTITUDE EARL!

  64. earlman27 said,

    Thanks dude.

  65. partyboyy10 said,

    Haha no problem

  66. twisted dragonshensei said,

    you worry too much. Just go wherever the wind takes you-that’s my sayin.

  67. The James said,

    yeah, my saying is similar to DS’s…only mine is “just go where ever the men in white coats take you”

    and you are not a bad person. though, I was being one when I wrote those things.

  68. earlman27 said,

    Thanks guys. I appreciate it.

  69. Milton said,

    Since the Joker didnt die in the dark night. I think Jonny Depp could play the joker. He looks like heath Ledger in the face. I bet he could do a good job too. He just has to practice his voice. The acting he could do. The ritler could wait. He is all about games and its not a villian. The joker is a good villan. Kills without thinking twice. We need him back once more. Hope this comment gets to the producer’s eyes.

  70. earlman27 said,

    I really don’t wanna see anyone try to replicate what Ledger did so masterfully.

  71. partyboyy10 said,

    well they gotta do something with him. he was just left hanging at the top of that building haha

  72. nolanator said,

    I guess they’ll just say that he’s in an asylum.

  73. earlman27 said,

    That’s what I’ve said. That’s practically the only option they have. Either that or he fled the country by sneaking out.

  74. partyboyy10 said,

    ah ok.

  75. lokithedark said,

    Just to clear something up – Fox said that as long as that machine is at wayne ent. he wont be there – hence Bruce told him to input his name to destroy the machine. He did this so that Fox does NOT leave or else he might as well have kept the thing. Fox will be back.

  76. partyboyy10 said,

    oh ok. and how exacly di two face turn? the joker got inside his head?

  77. earlman27 said,

    Sort of. He was a great person and had all the great things in his life, that is until people demanded for the confession of Batman. He falsely confessed and was kidnapped by the Joker. The Joker killed Rachel, which was basically his turning point. He then started killing and getting revenge. Thus, the downfall of harvey Dent.

  78. Redmage777 said,

    Depp pulling off the riddler… I’m thinking of some of his past characters and how interesting a diverse they were and it would be neat to see what direction he take it in.

    I couldn’t see a revist to the Devito penguin, I can still see the love of birds and umbrella’s working for him though… The concealed weapon in the umbrella is essential to his character.

    Catwoman… Could work, but there needs to be a new direction, I imagined she could be a vigilante much like batman himself, but without the billionaire trust fund to back her up… So she robs banks to fund her cause. Anyway, I’d sooner like to see catwoman then Poison Ivy again.

  79. Mollgan said,

    Actually, and maybe kind of suprising, I’m all against Johny Depp playing The Riddler. It’s just to obvious, in some kind of way. Played out all ready. If the riddler caracther ever should be brought into Nolans world, I would like it to be totaly diffrent from what you expect. And I mean comman, we can all picture Depp in it. He would probably do a great job. But it would be boring.
    The carachter is in to many ways alike joker, and Johny Depp is just a bit to cool, It would be the same thing all over again. In that matter, im actually more eager to see the pingue. Just beacuse its a bit challangeing, and maybee Nolan really can add something new to it.

    Honestly though, I would like the next movie more to be a struggle for Batman. Something personal. To bad Scarecrow is kind of out of the game, cuz otherwise a real Nightmare movie, with pskylogical attacks on batman would be great.

    Im sorry if my spelling and grammer isn’t that good, Im from sweden.

  80. earlman27 said,

    That’s one reason I didn’t like the idea of Johny Depp. It was too easy, too assumed, too safe to be a choice from Nolan. That’s why I thought if he did the Riddler someone like Hugh Laurie or David Anders would be perfect for the job.

  81. nolanator said,

    I know who Hugh Laurie is, but who is David Anders?

  82. earlman27 said,

  83. Mollgan said,

    To bad than wikipedia link didn’t have any photo on it though.

    But yeah, I totally agree with Earlman. Isn’t there any other villians that would be great whom we’re forgetting right now? Cuz it would feel kind of strange if Nolan all ready used the best of them so soon, without a plan for the next movie.

  84. earlman27 said,

    IGN had a really good theory on how they could incorporate Mr. Freeze.

  85. dragonshensi said,

    I say the Ventreloquilist. Not as a main villain, like a comedic releif kinda villain or something.

  86. dragonshensi said,

    Honestly, I don’t care who plays the Riddler as long as he does an awesome job.

  87. earlman27 said,

    I’m a Heroes nerd so I automatically want David Anders to do it.

  88. nolanator said,

    I agree with DS.

  89. cool said,

    Maybe no robin but Batgirl might be cool besides wasn’t there a cameo for Batgirl at the end of The Dark Knight? Commisioner Gordon had a unnamed daughter who fans suspect is a young Barabara Gordon who will become Batgirl in the future. Maybe not in Nolan’s films since Barbara seemed only like 5 years old if that is her.

  90. partyboyy10 said,

    Good point.

  91. James Gilks said,

    This is James Gilks (owner of SerialKillerCalendar.com) personally I would love it if they took the idea of the Riddler to a very dark extreme. His character is very close to real life serial killers like David Berkowitz (the son of sam) and the Zodiac Killer. Many serial killers (including Jack The Ripper and The Red Spider) have sent letters to the police and the Zodiac killer sent cryptograms (which where in essence a type of riddle). I think that if Hollywood is willing to take these films to the gritty dark side of real life, they should focus more on this angel and abandon the tacky jump suit wearing, cartoon aspect that Jim Carey brought to the screen. I would love to see a down right evil and twisted serial killer side to the Riddler.

    I also believe that they are setting up The Mad Hatter for a future movie. If you watch carefully, Batman says that the man Dent is interrogating in The Dark Knight (the creepy smiling guy from the ambulance) is named “Jervis Tetch”. This is The Mad Hatter.

    Lastly, I would love to see all these films come together in to a plot that involves Arkham Asylum. There have been many amazing graphic novels that focus on this (especially “A Serious Place on Serious Earth”). This would be a perfect opportunity for the writers to place Batman against not only a huge cast of badies but also against his own troubled mind.)

    Well, thats just the opinion of someone who runs a company devoted to selling serial killer merchandise so you can take it or leave it. I hope you can all stop by SerialKillerCalendar.com to pick up some morbid merch (including the new Serial Killer Magazine, Serial Killer Trading Cards and Serial Killer Action Figures. I know, its a shameless display of self promotion but really, I have to justify reading up on Batman Movies while I am supposed to be working somehow.

    James Gilks
    Owner of SerialKillerCalendar.com and Editor of Serial Killer Magazine.

  92. The James said,

    you are really creepy, do you know that?

  93. Earlofthercs said,

    Another Earl here. Hi Earl.

    Serial killer fan, James, the character Dent interogates/threghtens was named “Thomas Schiff” not Jarvis Tetch (Mad Hatter).

    Despite whatever desire to see serial klllers portrayed on film you have, the Riddler has always been depicted as one of Batman’s less violent advisaries. He’s killed a few people mainly out of convenience/dispassion and has never exhibited the agressive power seeking traits of the serial killers you discuss (where as plenty of Batman’s other advisaries, Joker, Mr Zsasz , Black Mask, Cornelius Stirk, Jane Doe, do). A good writer/actor/director team could easily portray the Riddler in a darker/more realistic manner without having to fundementally change the character and make him into a serial killer. Doing so would merely compound the old problem of the public perception of the Riddler being a Joker knock-off anyway. Why not play to the unique aspects of the character that make Riddler so special?

    On top of that… making money out of the exploits of these killers (and their victims) as you do is kind of disgusting. Unless, of coruse, you donate all profits from the calenda and magazine (and as much of your time you spend working on your website) to victims’ support charities, police associations and sexual violence prevention organisations? You don’t? Why not?

    As to casting, I used to be a David Tennant for the Riddler man myself (I think Johny’s kind of overrated… although I do love Donny Brasco, Dead Man, Blow… no wait, he’s not overrated at all. From Hell, Sleepy Hollow, Chocolate, Willie Wonka… no wait, yes he is. Hm. Hit and miss I guess.) my current leanign is for Neil Patrick Harris. He’s beliveable as being smarter than the Batman (which Riddler is, its just that his insainty compels him to make it possible for others to catch him… if it wasnt for his riddles, his perfect crimes would be compeltely unsolvable even to `the worlds greatest detective’) and Id like to see him have a go at creepy menace.

  94. earlman27 said,

    Great point. Nolan definitely needs to focus less on this psycho killer (they already did that in TDK) and more on a smart, yet insane villain that The Riddler is. David Tennant kinda however looks like a crazed killer though. I think they would need to go with a smarter looking person, someone like David Anders or Hugh Laurie. You do make some great points though, thanks for the input. (Honestly the guy from serialkillermagazine is out of his freaking mind.

  95. Earlofthercs said,

    No worries Earl. We’re in agreement. I dig the David Anders suggestion too.

    Earl

  96. Rick said,

    I certainly hope that the Riddler will be the next villain. I like the idea of the Riddler being some kind of serial killer similar to the Zodiak; that sends the police cryptograms. Maybe each time he kills he gets bigger, and bolder, to where near the end of the movie if Batman doesn’t solve his latest puzzle he (Riddler) will unleash some sort of nerve gas or whatever on the city killing thousands.

    I think Johnny Depp could very easily play the part, however, I think he could also mess it up too (Charlie and the chocolate factory, Edward Scissorhands, etc..)

    I would also like to see Bruce Wayne’s love interest be Selina Kyle (Catwoman). Have her be some international jet-setter that socialises with all the rich, famous people, loves jewlery, has a thing for cats. Of course she is also a professional cat burglar, which is how she supports her life style. In the end Batman will figure out that Selina Kyle, and the “Catwoman” are the same person, but she doesn’t find out that Bruce Wayne, and Batman are the same.

    I think Angelina Jolie could definitely play Catwoman, but I would rather see someone else do it. I’m not a fan of Angelina Jolie.

    How about Nicholis Cage as the Riddler? I think he’d be great. I also like the idea of Phillip Seymour Hoffman as the Penguin, but I think they should save him for the 4th film (if they get that far).

  97. One_Eyed_Dragon said,

    Forget Catwoman, add Harley Quinn.

    And if not, instead for Catwoman…
    There are so many great and interesting villains(no certain order):

    Deadshot
    Ventroilist
    Mr. Freeze
    Bane
    Poison Ivy
    Killer Croc
    Clayface
    Ratcatcher
    Firefly(imagine him teaming up with Mr. Freeze)
    The Mad Hatter
    Maxie Zeus
    Mr. Zsasz
    Calendar Man
    Hush
    etc…

    Since Riddler will be the main villain, Joker might or might not return as someone else and the Penguin being some “mob boss”, it would be cool to have some fitting second main villain like Joker/Two Face.

  98. Kevin Peterson said,

    well then for all Mr Freeze haters stop hating, now for The Riddler the choices are Johnny Depp, Hugo Weaving,Hugh Lauire and for The Penguin i can see Paul Bettany or Paul Giamatti and Catwoman it is Kate Beckinsale or Sienna Miller. however at least the tranformation of Mr Freeze should be in a credits cut scene as the choices are Timothy Olyphant,Kevin Spacey,Vin Diesel but it will be based on The animated series in cause only for the first two lines are You’re not sending me to the cooler!”, “Allow me to break the ice but the rest of the lines are nolan’s choice

Leave a Reply

