The Cellular Pandemic

September 8, 2008 at 3:29 pm (The Way Earl Sees It)

 

Just so you know, this is an article I’m putting in my school’s newspaper. This is an editorial by myself. 

“OMG! LOL! BRB! TTYL!” Do you know what I just said? Did I just type some random letters and put in different letters to confuse, am I cussing you out in Swahili, or is this some secret code known only to those known as “the teenager” or as the more elderly call them, “young hooligans”. Of course I am talking about the language of text messaging. It’s estimated by the board of totally made up statistics that 95% of all teenagers have a cellphone, and use it often. I work at the local gas station/convenience store, maybe you’ve heard of it, Hasti Mart, and I notice things. Nearly every teenager that comes in uses a cellphone. It’s no secret that some use theirs at school, and I’m sure they use them at home. I see people either calling or texting everywhere I’m at. A lot of adolescents talk on their phones while driving, which I don’t really have a problem with, however with texting, it’s a little more dangerous. Please do not mistake me, I do not condone talking on your cellphone while driving, in fact I disrecommend it. Wherein talking on a phone you have 1-2 hands available to drive, and you don’t have to look at anything but the road. However, with text messaging, you’re constantly looking down, pushing keys, checking the screen, making sure that’s the right letter, if you’re on the right menu, searching through your contacts to find the right one, etc. You’re driving a 2 ton piece of machinery capable of going faster than 50 mph, steering, and it’s all in your control, yet you’re looking down at a 2 x 4 inch piece of plastic so you can send an LOL. I have nothing against text messaging or cellphones, I just don’t think we should depend on them as much as we do. I’m not Jack the doomsday prophet standing on the side of the street yelling “THE END IS NEAR! SOON THERE WILL BE NO L to TTY!” I myself didn’t really see the point in text messaging (Why “LOL” when you can “call”), that is, until I myself started text messaging. I am by no means, however, a fluent text messager. I have 50 messages in my inbox. I have deleted 10 since I got my phone. For those of you at home that’s a whopping total of 60 text messages over the past 2 years. Just to give you some perspective, half are from my preacher (Not that there’s anything wrong with that Mr. Lee), or wrong yet creepy messages asking me if I want to scrimmage. Another thing I’d like to point out in this article is some people’s selection of a ringtone. Too many times I’ve been in somewhere public, and some really inappropriate song I really could have done without hearing starts blaring. It’s embarrassing for everyone. Sometimes it can be funny, say if “Jesus Takes the Wheel” starts up in church, but if “Gold Digger” starts up at a woman’s funeral, you’ll have some explaining to do. Please use caution when picking a ringtone, for both yours and everyone else’s sake. I for one just don’t want to lose the art of conversation. We never heard of cavemen speaking in text: “L-O-L Prometheus, brb gtta go hunt trex, ttyl, ugh.” Cellphones are a great tool to have in day-to-day life, but until we develop too high of a dependence, I won’t have to l-o-l out loud.

6 Comments

  1. dragonshensi said,

    Not wise to put where you work on the internet doof.

  2. dragonshensi said,

    no offense but yawn.Dude, half of this is like, “Thank You, we know that Captain Obvious.Plus, these jokes you put in suck.Not one of your best editorials.

  3. The James said,

    dude…..hasti mart is a huge chain. there are hundreds…I don’t think he is giving a way in any big info. its like saying you work at wal-mart.

  4. nolanator said,

    The only thing that bothers me about someone texting, is when you’re talking to them, they start texting, and they don’t listen to anything else you say.

  5. earlman27 said,

    There’s no danger in putting where I work doof. There are hundreds of hasti marts, just like James said, there’s no incrimination there. Plus, it’s not like there’s some hasti mart fiend who tracks down and kills everyone who works at a hasti mart

  6. The James said,

    lol…hasi mart fiend…sounds like a job for superman!

    here is the thing, texting has its uses. if you are in a loud place where you cannot hear to talk on the phone, texting comes in handy. aside from that, it is stupid. why text when you can talk? texting is the stupidest fad to hit our nation. (and there are quite a few)

    Granted, I IM and many people say thats the same thing. but it is not.
    1) you can IM multiple people at the same time (even in a confrence)
    2) It does not cost
    3) It is much easier than using the phone if you spend a lot of time on the computer.

    Just quit with the texting already!

Leave a Reply

