What Happens in Vegas… Review

September 13, 2008 at 10:12 am (Movies)

It seems that James, DS, and I rented movies this past Friday night, and while they chose some rompin stompin martial arts film, I chose something a little lighter with What Happens in Vegas…, and I’m glad I went with it. I believe we all know what the story is. Jack’s a 20 something who just lost his job to his father and is going nowhere in life. Joy is a prominent stock market worker whose fiancee just dumped her. Both of the people have “brilliant” best friends who give the idea to go Vegas. (I still don’t know how Jack’s able to pay a cab fair across the United States when he just lost his job, but I went with it.) Jack and Joy meet up in a fairly funny moment (“Don’t worry, they’re gay!”), and before they know it, they’re married after a night of drinking, partying, and overall debouchery. They’re forced to go through 6 months of “hard marriage” as the very funny judge calls it.

The whole legislative system is funny in this movie, with Dennis Miller as the judge and Queen Latifah as the straight up therapist, even Zach Galifianakis is in this movie. The buddy system in this film works really well, the word-play between Kutcher and his pal is often times hilarious, and the comments between the two pals is also very funny. Jack Fuller: Where’s the one place where you can step up and be a man? Hater: Community college? I found the scene about deomestic abuse particularly funny. “She told me to line the hand towels up just right, and…. I’m sorry…. I just…” “It’s a hot girl party! These things happen all the time!” “No dude, they don’t!”

Is this movie the funniest movie I’ve ever seen? No, not close. Is this a really sweet romantic comedy that’s a perfect date movie or just plain pure popcorn for a Friday night? You bet. I actually had a lot of fun with this movie, and it never really left me bored. The length of the film is just right, it gets the message across. Although the premise of the movie is a little far-fetched, and sometimes the comedy falls a little, it still provides for a fun time. Overall, if you’re looking through your video store and Iron Man isn’t out yet or is sold out, this is definitely worth your time. I enjoyed it a lot more than I thought I would.

4 out of 5

6 Comments

  1. dragonshensi said,

    I knew you would like it.

  2. nolanator said,

    I want to see this.

  3. The James said,

    so in other words…you ditched us for a chick flik…. 😉

    jk

    glad you enjoyed it but I have no intention of ever watching this…ever

  4. earlman27 said,

    It’s not a chick flick at all really. It’s actually really good.

  5. nolanator said,

    I still want to see it.

  6. tantoon said,

    Funniest movie never ever !!
    Everrrrrrrrrrrrr ….!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

