Ba-rack to the Future!

November 5, 2008 at 11:43 am (Weapons of Mass Enjoyment)

Well, just in case you didn’t know, Barack Obama, a senator from Illinois, born in Hawaii about 40 years ago, has been elected as the Presidential Elect for our country, to be sworn in next year on January 20th. He beat out his fierce opponent, John McCain, the Republican Candidate and his Vice Presidential Running Mate, Sarah Palin, for the top spot. Although McCain gained all of the south, a good deal of the west, and his home state of Arizona, along with Alaska, Obama gained California, most of the west, and practically all of the north. I was working last night at my job shift from 4-11 PM, and didn’t get to watch a majority of the election coverage. I heard a lot of stuff from people at my work, mainly my fellow Tennesseans unfortunately being racist and being very prideful in their bigotry, however I made it through the night. I left work about 11:00 at night, and driving about 4 miles to my house, I was listening to Oldies on my favorite station. I switched the station with election coverage, and was surprised and joyed to hear Obama’s voice. I never fully supported Obama, and I never fully supported McCain. I disagreed with McCain on his war policies in Iraq, and I disagreed with Obama on some economic policies and his thoughts on gay marriage. In times like that, however, you have to pick the lesser of two evils, and Obama seemed to be the better choice. His ideas of change and pulling America out of our current slum make a lot of sense to me, and hopefully he can help our nation in our current crisis. I wish Mr. Obama the best of luck in the coming months, as he tries to persuade those who did not vote for him, and fulfill his promises of change in America. God Bless America.

9 Comments

  1. nolanator said,

    DANG! I was for McCain all the way and I’ll admit it, I don’t like nor care for Obama.

  2. The James said,

    I did not like either, but I thought the lesser of two evils to be McCain. While I am dissapointed that he was elected, I am really more relieved that the election is over.

    Oh, BTW this is off topic, but type of music do you call oldies? Like that decade(s). Just wanna know.

  3. earlman27 said,

    I listen to 107.3. They do “Classics… and the best of today” according to their slogan. They play a lot of old stuff like Aretha Franklin, Queen, AC DC, Huey Lewis and the News, Ozzy, etc. Just classics like you’d find on a Classics CD, but they also play about a 1/3 of newer stuff.

  4. The James said,

    I listen to 107.3

    My main reason for asking is…I don’t see that as “oldies”

    I don’t count Aretha Franklin, Queen, AC DC, or Ozzy as oldies at all. When I hear “oldies” I think of 50’s. I think of the things your grandparents listened to…not your regular parents

    (thought they do that older stuff on Saturday nights)

    I love oldies

  5. earlman27 said,

    I really just consider oldies as anything older than me.

  6. Iggy said,

    I am glad he won.

    Also, their is A LOT of End TImes pushers saying Barack will cause the apocalypse.
    Some people actually cried.

  7. Hashmeer-H55 said,

    We need to pool all our conflicting political opinions in to one epic Messenger battle. Those are always fun.

  8. nolanator said,

    Here’s what I think for all this election and Obama stuff:

    SARAH PALIN FOR PRESIDENT 2012!

  9. nolanator said,

    She would be so much better than Obama.

Leave a Reply

