Save the Cheerleader, Save the Show?

November 5, 2008 at 9:41 pm (Television)

I’ll go ahead and admit it. The first season of Heroes was the best, and will never be matched. The first season provided a rich storyline, fun and thought provoking characters, and blew everyone’s expectations away in a 23 episode arc, from September of 2006 to May of 2007. The first season blew me away, and I couldn’t wait for more. Noone expected Heroes to be such a hit, and in the fall of 2007, the gang came back for another go-round. The second season was cut short by the writer’s strike, and was blasted by critics as too slow and not up to par with the original.

Tim Kring promised a return to glory with Season 3, Villains, and the fans he has tried to please are turning their back on him. They complain now of the season having poor character choices, unclear motives, and too fast of a story. Talk about ungrateful. I’ll be honest. I wasn’t happy with the first few episodes of the season. I didn’t like some of the new plot choices, I felt the show was becoming a soap opera, and I simply didn’t have time to catch my breath. Now I feel that the show is back on it’s feet. We’ve finally got a clear story, some cool villains, some unclear characters (that’s what makes it interesting), and a nicely-paced story. Sure, the story isn’t as coherent as it could be, and some motives are unsound, I’ll oblige to that. However, there are definitely some insane fanboys out there that just need to sober up. No season is ever gonna match Season 1. Don’t ask for this one to. Don’t compare it to one, just compare it to itself. Enjoy the season for what it is, and quitwhining about how the show isn’t as good as it used to be. Sure the show isn’t in it’s prime, sure there are some bad decisions that have been made, but unless you’re name is Tim Kring, you have no say in thematter. I think ol’ Tim has the whole show’s entire mythology already wrote out in a giant vault in his office, and he knows where the story is going. In order to be the helm on a giant show like Heroes, you’ve gotta have a good sense about you, and sense Kring has made it this far, I think he can continue to carry it. For those of you who think the show is doomed, I disagree with you. The show is hitting a good stride right now, and will hopefully continue to do that. For those who continue to think the show isn’t as great as it used to or should be, focus on what the show is now, not what it used to be, and enjoy Heroes, or just change the channel. I’m sure you’ll be fine watching ER.

11 Comments

  1. dragonshensi said,

    There are like 500 errors in this post.

  2. Hashmeer-H55 said,

    For Gods’ sakes, Earl “no one” two words.

    And comparing something to itself would be stupid. Everything would be exactly the same.

  3. Hashmeer-H55 said,

    D’oh! Correction, I meant, “For Gods’ sakes, Earl, ‘no one’ is two words.”

    Made me look like a hypocrite, huh?

  4. Hashmeer-H55 said,

    Wow, I have *really* got to work on my site thing. I’ll have to delete *everthing* and actually start giving a crap about it. What what will I write about? Any suggestions from my fellow posse members? Earl’s got game news and whathaveyou covered, so I can’t do that.

  5. The James said,

    Ok, earl…I don’t watch Heroes…but I do have a few comments/questions.

    1) Hasmeer beat me to the thing about comparing something to itself.

    2) “Sure, the story isn’t as coherent as it could be, and some motives are unsound, I’ll oblige to that.”

    – Ummm….I think you misused that word. When you are obliged to something that means you are either indebted to it or you you did it a favor.. You are not indebted to the fact that new new season is not as good, and you did not do the new season a favor. So, I am pretty sure that is incorrect…if it is not, then I apologize in advance.

    3) And for those of you who are leaving heroes, but do not wanna watch ER, I would like to suggest some alternatives:
    *Sliders – This show was an unexpected hit, like heroes. It also got really weird in the third season and lost a lot of fans, like heroes.
    *The Pretender – Another NBC drama. (with just a touch of comedy) It was so good that it spawned 2 made-for-tv movies.
    *Mutant X – I have really seen it yet. (just bits and pieces of one episode) but it has a similar premise. I have heard that it is good.

  6. The James said,

    wait…the last part of my previous comment was supposed to be “I haven’t really seen it yet”

  7. earlman27 said,

    Don’t advertise on my site for other shows not as good on Heroes. Okay, I’ll admit, I did misuse that word. Get over it. I meant I would agree to that.

  8. The James said,

    I am just saying that those are great shows. and you have not seen any of them so you cannot say that they are better or worse than heroes. you may like them.

  9. earlman27 said,

    Heroes is greatness. I really just don’t wanna get into another big show. I really just don’t appreciate other show advertising on a post encouraging people to stay with the show.

  10. nolanator said,

    I don’t watch Heroes so I guess I haved no business posting this comment.

  11. dragonshensi said,

    U should watch it Nolan. It’s da bomb!

Leave a Reply

