Fred Claus Review

November 26, 2008 at 5:56 pm (Movies)

After watching this movie, I am fully in the holiday spirit. That may or may not effect my final score. I was a little shaky on this movie at first, but after seeing it I liked it a lot more than I thought I would. Even the cover and menu of the DVD led me to think “Wow, this movie’s gonna stink”, but I was so wrong. This movie ended up providing a comedic, heartwarming, and clever Christmas story that has earned its right to be one of my favorite Christmas movies of all time. The plot’s about Fred (Vince Vaughn), the ill-gotten brother of Santa Claus (Paul Giamatti), who, tired of getting in trouble with the law and outliving his brother’s shadow decides to come up north and work for him so he can get some money for a new apartment, and a new get rich quick scheme. I really liked the casting in this holiday film. Paul Giamatti, who would think he could be Santa? But, purposefully or not, I will be picturing Santa as Mr. Giamatti himself. Vince Vaughn is also pretty funny as the ne’er-do-well brother. One thing I didn’t like too much about the film was the really strong juvenile humor often present in the film. The little sound effects here and there, and the kiddy vibes were really strong at times during the first half of the film, but towards the final act the more sophisticated fine-tuned humor came into play, along with the really heart-warming aspect of the story. You care more for the characters, choices are clearer, and the story really begins to grip you. Some of the jokes were actually really funny-Mall Santa Chase, Most of Vaughn’s Jokes, the confrontations between Giamatti and Vaugh, etc., but, as stated earlier, some just fell flat. Also, thanks to Elizabeth Banks as Santa’s Little Helper, not all of my thoughts about the North Pole would land on the nice list…. Anyway……. Kathy Bates is in it too….. Yea…. The movie starts out with this basic premise but it adds onto it and develops it into a great Christmas movie. One of the great things about the movie was the fact that it takes this great Christmas formula, and then it adds this really funny addition to it, while performing that really well and, in the end, creating a fun Christmas story the whole family can watch and have a great time with. Overall, I honestly didn’t like Fred Claus  at the beginning of the tale because of some offbeat humor and the fact that the tone was all over the place, but towards the end I began to like it more and more, and in the end, consider it one of my favorite Christmas movies. So this Christmas, cuddle up with your family, and rent Elf. If they don’t have it, this will be a fine substitute. 

4 out of 5

4 Comments

  1. The James said,

    I plan on renting this closer to christmas

  2. dragonshensi said,

    I loved this movie and planning on getting it.

  3. earlman27 said,

    I liked it a lot more than I thought I would.

  4. nolanator said,

    I’m getting this for Christmas.

Leave a Reply

