When Push Comes to Shove

December 12, 2008 at 12:27 pm (Movies)

Looking through the lineup for next year’s movies in the coming time of 2009, I found one movie I had overlooked, but looks pretty interesting now. The name of the movie is Push, starring Chris Evans (The Human Torch in Fantastic Four), Dakota Fanning (War of the Worlds), and Camilla Belle (Evolet in 10000 BC). The movie is about a group of super humans hiding from a Government group known only as “Division” that plan to use them as weapons. One of the interesting things about the movie is that there are different names for the different types of heroes-

  • Movers-Those that can simply move things.
  • Pushers-Those that can push thoughts into other’s minds.
  • Watchers-Those that can see the future.
  • Bleeders-Those that emit high pitched noises that can kill people.Β 
  • Sniffers-Those that can see the history of things by smelling them.Β 
  • Shifters-Those that can change the shape of something around them for a short amount of time.Β 
  • Wipers-Those that can wipe the memory of those around them.
  • Shadows-Those that can cloak themselves in shadow, almost invisible.
  • Stitchers-Those that can heal others.

This movie looks really good to me, a fan coming off a Heroes high. It looks to provide a surreal, but still action packed movie for fans of sci-fi and action. DC Comics will also be doing a prequel series to the film. You can expect Push to hit theaters February 6th, 2009.

24 Comments

  1. nolanator said,

    Looks okay.

  2. dragonshensi said,

    Little skeptical. It has potential the trailer was weird, kinda lame weird. Not the coolest one. I kinda reminds meof Heroes as well.

  3. earlman27 said,

    The thing I liked of it was the Heroes-like vibe to it, along with the different classes of these superheroes. Some of the effects were a little lame, I’ll give you that. I’ll probably end up seeing it.

  4. nolanator said,

    I think I’ll skip it.

  5. The James said,

    sound cool…I wanna see it

  6. dragonshensi said,

    I might see this. But I have a feeling this poor movie is going to be trashed and shredded to pieces by critics.

  7. earlman27 said,

    I kinda had that feeling too, but I usually don’t go with critics unless it’s a near unanimous decision.

  8. nolanator said,

    I’m staying away from this.

  9. earlman27 said,

    I don’t think you open you’re horizons enough Nolan. You don’t try anything. You stay in your little zone of comedy too much. Try something new.

  10. The James said,

    yeah, trying new things is a good thing

  11. nolanator said,

    I tryed to open my horizons and the first movie I saw was that horrible Jumper movie.

  12. earlman27 said,

    I saw it too. Yea, sure, it was bad, but I guarantee there are a lot more bad comedies than bad sci-fi or action movies. That’s one movie. “Trying new things” doesn’t mean seeing one bad movie and swearing off the genre.

  13. nolanator said,

    I like a lot of sci-fi and action movies.

  14. earlman27 said,

    But you’re still not opening your horizons wide enough. You give up after one bad flick. Take a chance, see a movie you’re not sure on. It’s 6 bucks, not a college investment. If it’s bad, so what? You just went and saw a flick, I’d rather see a bad movie than stay at home being bored. Just saying.

  15. The James said,

    There are some great sci-fi films out there, you just gotta find them. Watch “Stargate” it is what the series is based off of, it is supposed to be epic.

    Or 2001, a space oddesy..though, it is hard to understand (the book is better)

    Oh, I know it is not quite sci-fi, but I think it is outside your comfort zone! Watch “A Beautiful Mind” It is loosely based on the live of John Nash. A great film!

  16. nolanator said,

    I’d rather go see a movie I know that I’ll probably like.

  17. earlman27 said,

    But there’s no fun in just seeing movies you know you’ll like. Take a chance. Chances are you’ll like movies you didn’t think you liked but really liked more than you would the movies that you expected to like.

  18. The James said,

    huh?

    That makes me think of:

    “I don’t know half of you as well as I should like. And I like half of you half as much as you deserve”

    (btw, I actually got that from memory…but then I looked it up to check it)

  19. earlman27 said,

    I personally like a movie a lot more when I wasn’t expecting much out of it. If I go into a romantic comedy expecting crap, and end up loving it, I like it a lot more than I would have some run of the mill superhero movie that I liked, but was already expecting to like.

  20. dragonshensi said,

    You should see Nolan’s DVD collection. Nothing but comedy.

  21. dragonshensi said,

    Romantic comedy?Really? Just went up the queer scale.

  22. nolanator said,

    Romatic comedies? What in the world?

  23. earlman27 said,

    It doesn’t matter. I was just making an example. The point is you need to try more movies Nolan. Not just comedies. Broaden your scope of cinema. Look at me for example. I like nearly any kind of movie-besides teen movies, standard action romps, or chick flicks. My favorite movies are Back to the Future-Sci-Fi, Pursuit of Happyness-Drama, and numerous comedies-School of Rock for example.

    WHat I’m trying to say is a movie you didn’t expect to like and like you’ll enjoy more than a movie you already expected to like. Just think about it. If I get you into a new genre or get to try a new type of movie, and you love it, then my mission is accomplished.

  24. The James said,

    besides, it is boring when you do the same thing over and over

Leave a Reply

