The Day the Earth Stood Still (2008) Review

December 13, 2008 at 8:03 pm (Movies)

Are you aware of the impending attack on Earth? Some may think that the new remake of the original sci-fi classic “The Day the Earth Stood Still” may be this attack, but to me, although it’s far from perfect, the film was a fun adventure for what would have been a boring Saturday. The movie is about our little planet Earth yet again being attacked, warned, or both in this case by some other advanced species in our galaxy, and they all look like Keanu Reeves! THE HORROR!!! Actually, the entire species is here to not destroy our planet, but to save our planet… from us. The themes of environmentalism and other conservational methods run rampant in the film, but do so with a subtle touch behind the jaw-dropping special effects. This kinda proved to be my least favorite part of the movie. Throughout the film Reeves’ character warns the humans, fills their head with the same message “Save the earth, you’re too late, gotta be a stronger race”, and then in the end only one person really promises to try to do better. I had the feeling that the Earth was just gonna revert to its old ways in a week. It builds up this big environmental message, but then just doesn’t deliver as much as it could have. It didn’t ruin the movie for me, that just kinda stuck out to me. The cast was fairly good in the movie, Jaden Smith was pretty good, but the best to me was Reeves and John Cleese, a professor underused in the film. Reeves’ stone cold looks and short responses sent shivers up my spine. The special effects in the movie were also pretty good. All the robots, set pieces, models, locations, etc. were incredibly well placed and well thought out to fit the cold, doomed tone of the film. The movie’s one of the smartest I’ve seen, backing up this monumental event, with more science than fiction, and likes to show it’s muscle with the occasional special effect, but it just didn’t feel like it went all out. I was originally hoping the movie would take on the tone of Spielburg’s remake of War of the Worlds, but it just kinda felt like a lighter family version of that. The movie slowed down to a crawl at times, but at other times it was fast, fun, and really exciting. The film just didn’t follow through on some notes I wanted it to, and took on a different tone. I feel that maybe if it had let it’s hair down at times it could have been a little better. I make it sound like it’s a really disappointing movie, but it’s far from that. If you’re looking for a good science fiction adventure, this is the movie for you. The action is quick at times, the special effects are breathtaking, and it has a great story with a great message behind it, if that’s what you’re looking for, look no further than The Day the Earth Stood Still. 

3 1/2 out of 5

5 Comments

  1. dragonshensi said,

    I liked this movie. Might just buy it.

  2. earlman27 said,

    This one just didn’t have that good of a re-watch value to me. I liked it, I just don’t wanna invest $20 in it.

  3. nolanator said,

    I believe I’ll be skipping this movie. Right now I’m all about Yes Man.

  4. earlman27 said,

    You’re right for skipping it. You wouldn’t like it nolan.

  5. The James said,

    I would like to see it, I will rent it. But, as I have already said, I wanna see the original one!

Leave a Reply

