Earl’s Evaluation-It’s Your Life, Do What You Want

December 19, 2008 at 10:28 pm (The Way Earl Sees It)

 

This is a new series I’d like to start, maybe every Friday set aside some time to share my opinion on some sort of topic. Whether it’s life, something in the video game or movie world, or it might be just something that was on my mind. Sort of like the regular Way Earl Sees It, but more structured. In this time of giving, I feel as if I should give you, the viewer, the reader, the subscriber, a gift. Not a physical gift, an Ipod, a PS3, or some blu-ray player that I’m hoping will never really catch (I don’t wanna spend $30 on a movie I’ll only watch once), however a mental lesson, a life lesson if you will. I’d like to share my thoughts, help you and even myself with coping and making it through life. If you don’t wanna read this, think I’m preaching to you, I’m not. I don’t preach, preachers do, and I’m not a preacher. I’d rather you listen to a preacher than me. 

I hear so many people complain about life. I hear people whine about the position they’re in, the people they’re around, complaining about how they don’t like their life. It’s one thing to state that you’re unhappy on something, that you don’t like something in your life, that something really burns you. That’s life. If you’re out in the world today and you don’t already know it, life ain’t fair. Life can have you feeling like you’re on the edge of the world sometimes, but other times it’s gonna roundhouse kick you, then keep kicking you in the gut over and over until you get up, or you can just choose to stay there and keep gettin’ kicked. It’s another thing to constantly whine, constantly brood over those things. It’s unhealthy to let that fester in your gut. If you know what I’m talking about you know it’s no fun to bearound someone that just complains all the time and is just so pessimistic. It’s not just lack of optimism, it’s also laziness. If you’ve got something in your life that you don’t like, change it. Don’t just sit there, whine about it and expect it to get better on it’s own, you get up and you fix it yourself. I understand you can’t apply this standard to all things-bad family, etc., but that doesn’t mean you can’t change your attitude, or even other people’s. It’s not always your fault either. Sometimes you might just have to pray and help others to get better understanding. Sometimes you might just have to get over things, but long story short-There’s never any situation that you can’t get out of. When life kicks you in the groin of couple of times and throws you to the ground, when you get dealt a bad hand, it’s up to you to do a little praying, get up, dust yourself off, and fix your life. If you’re lucky, you might just have some people around you to help you. You can’t change the past, but you sure can change your future, I learned that from Heroes. Whenever life starts to beat you up, you can’t let it get to you, you can’t let that keep you laying on the ground. I know I’ve said it 15 times, but it’s your job to either A) Change your attitude B) Change Others’ Attitudes C) Get Over It and Adapt a Little or D) Change your life yourself. Life’s what you want it to be. (I am so glad I didn’t say Life’s what you make it to end this one….)

9 Comments

  1. dragonshensi said,

    That’s kinas ironic cause you complain about your life all the time and you never do anything about it.

  2. earlman27 said,

    You’re right. Sometimes I’m just joking around, but sometimes I do complain a lot, and you’re right. I didn’t just write this to you all or others, I wrote it to myself just as much as anyone else.

  3. The James said,

    1) You complain about your life a lot…a lot…I know this point has already been brought up, but I feel the need to re-state it. We have to hear it…a lot.
    2) It is sad that you learned this from heroes…really, really sad.
    3) I like what you said about changing your attitude. If I did not have positive attitude about my heart condition, I would go crazy. Though it can be hard, because those around me who realize how serious it is tend to make it worse. But you gotta laugh about it and keep on going.
    4) What do you have against blu-rays? I know the movies are expensive now, but so were DVDs when they irst came out.
    5) Did I mention that it is sad that you learned that from heroes….btw, you can no longer make fun of me about my SW obsession, because you have reached the same level…if not worse.

  4. earlman27 said,

    I know, I do complain about my life a lot. That’s something I want to change. I’d like to live a better life next year. Fix some things, worry less, and just have a great year.

    I didn’t learn the whole thing from Heroes, just that Heroes provides a great illustration of changing the future.

    I don’t like the fact that Blu-rays cost $30. Sure, that was the price of DVDs, and sure, they’ll eventually go down, but until then, $30 is way too much to pay for very small differences in video and audio.

  5. The James said,

    I think the change is based on the person.

    I can hardly see the difference.

    To my dad, it is a world of difference. I love to watch him watch hi-def…he gets so exited.

  6. earlman27 said,

    “I think the change is based on the person.”

    What’s that supposed to mean?

  7. The James said,

    I mean some people see a big difference between SD and HD, others don’t.

    To my dad it is a huge difference. I can hardly tell the difference.

  8. earlman27 said,

    I thought you were referring to the comment on me changing my life.

  9. The James said,

    no; juist blu-ray

Leave a Reply

