Traitor Review

December 19, 2008 at 9:34 am (Movies)

Is Don Cheadle working for the FBI? Or is he undermining a secret terrorist plot? To be honest, I didn’t know during the movie, and I still am not totally sure. The movie Traitor revolves around Don Cheadle’s character, Shamir, or something Arabic like that. Anywho. Shamir finds himself in quite a pickle. As a young boy, he saw his father killed by a suicide bombing. Then, about 30 years later he is caught in the middle of a terrorist plot himself. After getting caught by the other side of the fence and taken in by their side as one of them, he ends up doing a little work for them. Pretty soon he’s trying to get on the good side of the terrorists, but ultimately trying to trick them because he’s working with the police. Let’s just say I was confused. (Okay, I just checked Wiki… totally caught up now… I was pretty close to right.) I’ll go ahead and say it. I fell asleep during this movie. It might have been b/c I was on a really comfortable couch, maybe it was a boring scene, or maybe it was because I stayed up til’ midnight the previous night watching Whose Line is it Anyway. One thing I really liked in the film was the great theme of the Muslimfaith. Samir himself is Muslim, and his bombers are as well. The movie does a great job of explaining, going into focus on the motives, the inner reasons for the bombings, it even provided a greater understanding of myself from it, which is a great thing to come from a 2 hour movie. I could recommend this movie on that alone. The bombings aren’t just “ALL PRAISE ALLAH LA LA LA LA LA LAAAA!!!!!! (BOOM)” This theme opened my eyes a lot and even educated me on this topic and even stereotype that’s running rampant through the US. The performances in the movie were also pretty good. Jeff Daniels and Guy Pearce both did a great job as two straight edged FBI agents, but Don Cheadle was definitely the best cast character. The movie’s action and fight scenes contain a very surreal sense of realism, which when pertaining to a movie about suicide bombings, is helpful. You feel like all of this could actually happen. The movie is also very fast-paced, every other scene someone’s killed, someone’s revealed to be a double-agent, someone’s blowing up, someone’s getting executed, etc. which with a tired mind and a already difficult plot can be a little troublesome. The movie also kinda seems a little repetitive in some spots, doing the same things repeatedly, you’re almost expecting Don Cheadle’s big revelation at the end of the movie. You’re always expecting the unexpected. These are minor complaints though. Really what I appreciated on the film was it’s attention to the racing topic, it’s wonderful execution and real tone, and some really well-thought performances. I might actually buy this eventually. Overall, I really enjoyed Traitor, and if you’re looking for a movie that will get your mind going, and you’re ready to sit down and pay attention to a great story, then get some rest, and give Traitor a rent.

4 out of 5

10 Comments

  1. earlman27 said,

    Really it’s tagline “The truth is complicated” is the best way to describe the movie.

  2. The James said,

    I think I will stick with Speed Racer 😀

  3. earlman27 said,

    No way, this is a really good movie. You should try it. You’re starting to make me think Speed Racer’s not that good.

  4. The James said,

    how is that?

  5. earlman27 said,

    B/c you talk about it so much

  6. dragonshensi said,

    It’s not good. Let’s just say it fits James’s taste well.

  7. nolanator said,

    I saw the first 10 minutes of Speed Racer, then I left.

  8. The James said,

    I don’t talk about it that much….I make random refrences, but I don’t go on about it like you do TDK.

  9. earlman27 said,

    That’s true. To me, The Dark Knight’s awesome. To you, Speed Racer is awesome. To each his own.

  10. The James said,

    thank you!

Leave a Reply

