BEST/WORST MOVIES OF 2008

December 29, 2008 at 9:43 am (Movies, Top Ten)

   

   

                    

I decided this year instead of combining both movies and video games into one post, since I haven’t played that many new games this year, and since I have watched a lot of movies. I decided I would take one post aside to name off my favorite movies of the year, separating them into categories, naming the worst, and my top ten favorite for the year. If you have any suggestions to me for movies I might have forgotten, feel free to let me know. 

BEST ACTION/ADVENTURE MOVIE (NOT INCLUDING SUPERHERO MOVIES)-

  • Traitor
  • Quantum of Solace
  • The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian

Tie-007: Quantum of Solace and The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian-Both are great movies that everyone should see, I simply could not decide though between them, given that I liked them for different reasons. That, and I’d get my head bitten off. 

BEST SUPERHERO MOVIE-

  • Iron Man
  • Hancock
  • The Dark Knight
  • The Incredible Hulk

Winner-The Dark Knight-This movie astounds me to this day. Iron Man or The Incredible Hulk would win any other day had TDK not been involved, however, TDK succeeds not only as a superhero movie, but as a true crime epic. That, plus Ledger’s unrivaled performance make it my winner. 

I must say that all the others are great movies as well, all could have won on their own. All worth exceeding honor. 

BEST COMEDY-

 

  • Get Smart
  • Drillbit Taylor
  • What Happens in Vegas…
  • Be Kind Rewind
  • Bedtime Stories

 

Winner-Get Smart-Although I loved Be Kind Rewind and thought it was a better movie, Get Smart just carries more laughs. It is funnier than Be Kind Rewind to me, and AS A COMEDY it succeeds. However as a film, Be Kind Rewind is a better movie.

BEST DRAMA-Winner-The Bucket List-I didn’t see any other dramas, go figure.  

BEST ANIMATED MOVIE-

 

  • Kung Fu Panda
  • WALL E
  •  Horton Hears a Who

 

Winner-WALL E-Even though Kung Fu Panda is one of the best animated movies I’ve seen in a while, WALL E proves to be another animated classic from PIXAR.

BEST SCIENCE FICTION-

 

  • Jumper
  • The Day the Earth Stood Still

 

Tie-I couldn’t decide whose acting was more wooden, Christensen or Reeves, and Reeves is a frackin’ alien! Both movies are worth while sci-fi fair, nothing too great but still worth your time. 

BEST SEQUEL-

 

  • The Dark Knight
  • The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian
  • 007: Quantum of Solace

 

Winner-The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian-Bet you didn’t see that one coming, did ya? I judged this on which movie series improved the most, not which one was the best movie. Prince Caspian was a great improvement to me over  the first, which is what puts it ahead. 

BEST FAMILY MOVIE-

 

  • Bedtime Stories
  • WALL E
  • Horton Hears a Who

 

Winner-Bedtime Stories-Out of all these movies suited for families, Bedtime Stories does the best job of making it fun for both kids and adults. Kids like fantasy, there you go. Adults like Sandler, there you go. 

WORST MOVIE OF 2008-

 

  • Jumper
  • You Don’t Mess with the Zohan
  • 10000 BC
  • Cloverfield

 

Winner-You Don’t Mess with the Zohan-Oh what hopes I had for this movie. I thought it would be funny. I thought it would be entertaining. I thought wrong. DS and Nolan, you all can accuse all you want or defend, the movie was not funny at all to me. They basically take the same joke and they re-use it 50 times, each time grosser and even less funny. 10000 BC earned it’s way here b/c of, well, I can’t remember. Jumper is here thanks to Hayden Christensen. Finally, Cloverfield’s here just b/c it had the worst and most nauseating camera work ever.

TOP ELEVEN MOVIES OF 2008-I couldn’t get myself to rid the #11 spot, so I decided to leave it in as an addendum.

 

  1. The Dark Knight
  2. The Bucket List
  3. Be Kind Rewind
  4. WALL E
  5. Iron Man
  6. Get Smart
  7. 007: Quantum of Solace
  8. Bedtime Stories
  9. The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian
  10. Hancock
  11. Kung Fu Panda

 

More than Worthy Mentions-Edward Norton’s fantastic portrayal of Bruce Banner in The Incredible Hulk, Kutcher and friend’s hilarious times in What Happens in Vegas. 

Stay tuned for my picks for video games and TV coming soon. *Note-If I end up seeing Seven Pounds, Yes Man, or some other movie this month, I’ll edit this post. 


3 Comments

  1. nolanator said,

    Your picks are pretty good.

  2. earlman27 said,

    Thank you. I appreciate it.

  3. nolanator said,

    Wow, you’ve been grammer corrected.

Leave a Reply

