Marley and Me Review

January 4, 2009 at 8:43 am (Movies)

What is this? The third new movie I’ve seen within the past week? That’s like a record or something. These past 3 movies including Bedtime Stories, Seven Pounds, and now Marley & Me, Marley and Me proves to be the best out of these three, and more than likely, the best movie I’ll see this month. More than likely, you know what the story is about. John (Owen Wilson) and Jenny (Jennifer Aniston) Grogan start out their lives as a newly married couple, trying to set up a perfect life. About a year into their marriage they adopt Marley, a sweet Labrador Retriever that quickly has them on the end of their leash (pun intended). They work their way through life, through sadness, triumph, new job opportunities, moving, new houses, children, and more, all with Marley by their side. My favorite thing about this film was how well they constructed this family, how they established this family that had problems, went through sadness, etc. and how well they pulled you in. We’re talking a 20 year period this movie plays through, and they’re able to squeeze that down into a 2 hour movie, and they do it well enough so that you’re drawn into this family, you feel like you’ve known them for 20 years when the credits roll. You cry when they cry, you laugh when they laugh, and that’s what a movie should do. Draw you in. The variety in that timeline is also very well done. One minute John’s getting a promotion, they’re at the beach, they’re celebrating anniversaries, having kids, birthdays, etc., and it’s all so well transitioned and well edited, it doesn’t just leave you in a stuffy room watching them play with a dog for 120 minutes. The movie is also really funny. Owen Wilson does a really good job comedically, and the dog-related antics had my theater rolling with laughter. The movie, of course as you may have heard, is a sob-fest. James made a comment on his site talking about how someone said it was impossible to not cry during that movie. I fully believe that. I’m a big cryer in movies, but I cried a lot during this movie. The funniest thing to me was watching the guy in front of me, this big motorcycle rider, raise his hand up to rub his eye. As part of the family element, you will cry… a lot. If you don’t at least get  a little choked up, either you weren’t paying attention or you really need to think about what would make you cry. For a movie that spans 20 years, the movie is greatly paced, taking you from era to era, never getting boring. Although I didn’t really like that it skipped through some of the possibly funnier segments quicker than other, it’s understandable given this type of movie. The movie also got a little slow at times, but even those moments are great. I really loved this movie, I liked it a lot more than I thought I would. If you’re still wondering if you need to go see this, the answer is yes, but go see it with your family. Cry together. This movie is almost like a dog version of Forrest Gump. Overall, if you’re a dog lover, you’ll love this more than I did, but if you’re looking for a great movie to have a good cry in and have some great laughs along the way, look no further than Marley and Me. 

5 out of 5

12 Comments

  1. nolanator said,

    I want to see this movie but will probably wait until it’s on DVD.

  2. earlman27 said,

    It’s really good. It’s serves great as both a comedy and a tearjerker.

  3. dragonshensi said,

    Earl, you need to hear yourself. You sound more like a girl. Anyway, I want to see this.

  4. earlman27 said,

    Well, I think I’m being a little too physiological in my reviews, thinking too hard. But that was really my favorite aspect, and I was trying to convey it. I’m gonna try to simplify/shorten my reviews. This is more of a chick-ish movie, but it is a great one.

  5. The James said,

    I will probably rent this

  6. Hashmeer said,

    You do realize that a 5… out of 5 is a perfect score, right? So is this like the best movie ever, then? Looks to me like it’d be too “chick-ish,” with the dog shoved into it so that kids will want to watch it, leaving only men alienated.

    Meh, I’m a cat person anyway.

  7. nolanator said,

    It looks okay to me.

  8. earlman27 said,

    I don’t really like cats. They’re really disgusting.

    I kinda do it the X-Play style. 5 isn’t perfect, but it’s close enough to perfect to warrant a 5. It may not be perfect, but it’s pretty close to. Marley and Me wasn’t perfect, but it earned the 5 out of 5.

  9. nolanator said,

    There you go Hashmeer.

  10. coffee fiend said,

    Jennifer Aniston is all the rage right now

  11. The James said,

    [sarcasm] TOTALLY! [/sarcasm]

  12. nolanator said,

    Ha ha.

Leave a Reply

