TAKE THAT ESPN!!!

January 6, 2009 at 5:17 pm (Television, The Way Earl Sees It)

Warning-This is one of those rant posts. Alrighty, this is a new year, so I figured I’d take on one of the big forces out in the world today-ESP-FRACKIN-N!!! Where to start? I’d just like to set out a post to point out all my grievances with not only the channel ESPN, but all channels that broadcast football games. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not the anti-football nerd that doesn’t enjoy a good ol’ football game on a loud, cold, Friday night that smells like buttery popcorn and gatorade. I’m all up for that. I’ve become a football nerd recently. Back in ’07 I was a football manager for my local team and had a great time (that is except for some of the doofs I worked with, that made styrofoam seem smart).

For one, I’ve noticed that all these broadcasters, all these guys that sit in the studios talking football with their guy friends, almost all of them look like they play or could play football. All of them are these big buff guys. For once I want to see someone that doesn’t look like they’re poppin’ steroids, look like they’re about to take my lunch money, or sexually harass some woman (take that Terry Bradshaw). Get somebody that looks like a regular guy down their to the field, or, here’s a thought, someone who wears glasses, or maybe weighs less than 300 lbs.Β 

Another thing, ESPN should really work on their game montages. Not that they’re not cool sometimes, it’s just that some of their music choices are a little strange. Using pop songs from divas like “Hot And Cold” is not exactly testosterone-filled, and doesn’t really get my blood pumping to get excited for the big game. When they’re not playing songs from the latest overnight fad, they’re playing a lot of the same AC/DC, Black Sabbath, or Guns N’ Roses song that we’ve heard playedbillions upon billions of times. Try something new ESPN, put in some Korn or an under-the-radar AC/DC tune, give us something new, but suitable. Once again, I’m not mad, I’m just making some points and blowing off some steam. Glad I got that out of the way. I’m gonna go re-watch Utah beating the snot out of Alabama from Saturday. BTW, you had it coming Alabama.

5 Comments

  1. dragonshensi said,

    This is a rant post.

  2. The James said,

    HORRAY FOR RANTS! (specially ones against espn!)

  3. nolanator said,

    ESPN isn’t that bad.

  4. earlman27 said,

    I like ESPN, it’s just I felt like making these points.

  5. nolanator said,

    Okay.

Leave a Reply

