Swing Vote Review

January 14, 2009 at 9:39 pm (Movies)

One man will decide the fate of our country. One man will choose whose policies are better for us and the rest of our fellow citizens. One man will choose between Obama or McCai-, er, Grammer and Hopper. This man, who reminded me a lot of my uncle on my mother’s side, is Kevin Costner, and in the great movie Swing Vote, he’s stuck with the monumental task of choosing the next president single-handedly. All through the constant barrages of cries for help, requests for political favor, and Willie Nelson. I had been wanting to see the movie Swing Vote for a while, and now that I have, I am definitely glad I watched, and might even buy this movie. Probably the best thing about this, of course, is the comedy. This movie was really funny to me, it blended a great element of realism that came with the material, this every day man concept, and some great comedic performances by the like of Kevin Costner. The idea of this every day man choosing the fate of the free world, and the man being this blue collar worker is something the movie fully delivers on, and it does it well. This movie definitely had an awesome cast, including the likes of the wonderful Madeline Carrol, Kelsey Grammar, Dennis Hopper, George Lopez (Who is actually funny), Stanley Tucci, and Nathan Lane. All of them pull their weight and deliver big laughs in their small share of screen time each. The movie also really proves to be a great drama. There were plenty of sad moments shared on screen, centering around divorce, drug addictions, drinking, among a slew of political topics weighing Bud down that proved to show this comedy had some meat to it and had a great message. This isn’t the comedythat you watch and leave the theater, have a few laughs, and forget about it, this is the kinda movie that leaves an impression, and makes you think “What if this did happen?” As far as bad points in the movie go, the movie’s not perfect. It did sort of drone on in spots, get a little repetitive at points. Plus, the idea isn’t that realistic or practical. There’s a lot of bending over backwards in the plot to have this one specific circumstance to occur. You just gotta realize this isn’t a cold hard facts movie, just have a fun time with it. Also, this movie is not for kids. Which is funny, because it’s published by Disney. The S- grenade is lobbed dozens of times in the movie, and the F bomb is dropped once, so keep the kids away from this one. The ending on this one might also irritate you, but it turns out to be the best one possible. Overall, if you’re looking for a great thought-provoking dramedy for a Friday night, you can’t go wrong with Swing Vote, in fact, if you’re just looking for a great movie, Swing Vote is the right pick for you. So go see it. 

4 1/2 out of 5

20 Comments

  1. The James said,

    how is it that he decides the president? Sounds a little crazy (stupid) to me. Oh well, I may watch it.

  2. earlman27 said,

    There’s an error in the voting process, and his vote was the only one that didn’t go through. That and the election was already virtually tied, so he is forced to recast his vote. It’s a little far-fetched if you think about it too hard, but you just gotta let it go.

  3. BabCom5 said,

    I don’t have to think about it to hard. The name it self is ludicrous. Anyone who understands how the government works would know that this will not happen. Congress would decide who would win if it was that close. Beside the fact that the electoral college pretty much rules out a swing vote barring any extremely unlikely circumstances which would end up with congress deciding.

  4. earlman27 said,

    Dude, if you can’t enjoy a simple movie idea like this, just forget it’s not the most realistic, and enjoy the movie, you shouldn’t watch movies.

  5. BabCom5 said,

    If I should then I shall and if I shall then I should. I shall watch movies and complain and if I shall then I should as the movies were insane.

    It should try harder to make sense if it is going to be based on are election system. Otherwise it’s being silly.

  6. earlman27 said,

    So what if it’s silly? You can’t go into all movies thinking “This is crap cause it doesn’t make any sense”. There’s always that “What if?” You’re first little comment there made less sense than the movie. Plus, you haven’t even seen it. You can’t go through life like that.

  7. BabCom5 said,

    Never said I haven’t seen it. I will indeed go through life like that. I will question everything and nitpick to my hearts desire.

  8. earlman27 said,

    Have fun with that horrible way of life. Congratulations, you’ll successfully screw up your life, and there’ll be a day where you regret it.

  9. dragonshensi said,

    You’re being stupid about this Babs. That is a horrible and crazy way on life. I think you’re just saying this just to say it and be a jerk.

  10. Iggy said,

    I agree with Babcom, this is a silly premise.
    I’m not going to watch it because it’s not a movie I’d be interested in, not based on the silliness.

    I also don’t see how applying logic is a “silly” way to view things.

    I could get it if it was in a fantasy setting, but it seems like they are making the American election system look too much like a true democracy.

  11. earlman27 said,

    There’s nothing wrong with applying logic, but when you go through life, nitpicking everything, examining everything so scrutinously, you can’t enjoy life. And overall, ITS JUST A MOVIE.

  12. nolanator said,

    I would actually like to see this.

  13. earlman27 said,

    You should Nolan, it’s A GOOD, FUN CONCEPT that DOESNT HAVE TO MAKE SENSE to be a fun time.

  14. nolanator said,

    Ok.

  15. BabCom5 said,

    I enjoy living my life this way as understanding is much more entertaining than being ignorant. So I shall question everything in life so that I may better understand all the intricate facets of life that exist.

  16. earlman27 said,

    I’m not saying be ignorant, it’s just pointless and stupid to wrench all the fun out and speculate everything in life.

  17. BabCom5 said,

    Not knowing is only half the fun in life. The other half is finding out.

  18. The James said,

    “Have fun with that horrible way of life. Congratulations, you’ll successfully screw up your life, and there’ll be a day where you regret it.”

    I have known both of you for a few years and I have talked with both of you a lot. And out of the two of you, bab is the one who can truly enjoy life. You tend to just worry about stuff.

  19. earlman27 said,

    I admit, I over worry, a lot. But I don’t think it’s right to go through life over analyzing.

  20. The James said,

    1) Often times what you call “over analyzing” is actually common sense.
    2) Also, “I enjoy living my life this way as understanding is much more entertaining than being ignorant” – Yeah, I think he has summed it up quite well.
    3) I have seen you turn down movies for reasons WAY more stupid reasons

Leave a Reply

