Movie Ideas-Spiderman Series

January 19, 2009 at 9:35 pm (Movie Ideas)

 

Another week, another opportunity for me to throw my ideas out and set another movie series straight. Another chance to anger nerds everywhere. With this week’s report that the next Spiderman movie would be start filming in 2010, I thought I’d throw my hat in the web slinger’s ring. I’ve always been a fan of the series, as I saw all 3 in nerd excitement and glory over the past few years. However, since 2007, nothing much has been heard from Raimi, or his counterparts involved with bringing the webhead to the big screen. Like many others, I’ve lost interest during this hiatus. This series needs some new ideas, some exciting futures, and some organization to get it back to the top. 

  • Distinct, Well-Thought Out Villains-Don’t get me wrong, Spiderman 1 and 2 both did this fantastically. Alfred Molina’s portrayal of the Octavian Doctor was brilliant, so was Dafoe’s creepy Goblin impersonation. However, in Spiderman 3, they kinda threw in 3 different villains that felt a tad rushed. Venom, although great, was on for a little bit, but my favorite of the moviehad to be Sandman. In Spiderman 4, maybe bring in just one, maybe two villains, but spend enough time to fully develop all of them. Make them believable, cool, and well-thought-out. Almost like what they did with the Iron Monger in Iron Man, or the Abomination in The Incredible Hulk. The Lizard’s a must, you already have him set up. Maybe for the 4th film, have the Vulture, or maybe even Carnage. To me, it doesn’t matter. As long as he or she’s thought out, and well implemented. 
  • An Older Peter ParkerI think for the series to move forward, along with implementing Parker’s inner struggles that could be explored, maybe a more mature, older Peter Parker is needed. I’m not saying a different actor, but maybe rough Macquire up to make him seem more mature, wiser, and not just a high school nerd. Keep his nerdy persona, but give him this feel of a world-weary man, handed these extraordinary abilities. 
  • Personal Struggles/Inside the Life of Peter Parker-Almost what we saw with his relationship with Mary Jane, or his struggle to maintain both identities, I think the series needs to bring Parker down a notch. Beat him up, throw him to the side, take some things away from him, make him feel pain. Let’s take Peter Parker and explore maybe a darker side, let’s set some time in the movie to see some personal struggles of his life. Death, lost love, failure in a job or school, all these could possibly make for a great movie.
  •  THE DEATH OF AUNT MAYYes, call this one crazy, but it might just work. This one kinda goes along with the whole personal struggle thing, but I think if Raimi decided to kill off the aunt, we could really get a great storyline. 
  • A Darker, Grittier New York-Let’s drop the bright colors, the vivid-ness of NYC. Almost like what Nolan did with Gotham City. Let’s focus on the underbelly, the darker side of one of the most crime-filled cities, and the web slinger that tries to protect it. 
7 Comments

  1. The James said,

    sounds like you are trying to turn spiderman into batman.

  2. earlman27 said,

    Batman set a great example for it to follow. I’m simply taking old Spiderman concepts and suggesting they re-implement them. I will admit, TDK still might be clouding my vision.

  3. The James said,

    I don’t like the idea of making spiderman more like batman. Batman’s fourmula was good….for batman. If all superhero movies follow that fourmula, they just won’t be good.

    Distinct, Well-Thought Out Villains- Of course. This is needed for all films of the genre. Less is more in some respects, but you gotta give the villain his screen time. I think the way they did ock was perfect. Ock is part of why I think that spidey 2 is the 2nd best superhero movie of all time. (it is just behind x-men 2)

    An Older Peter Parker- I don’t quite agree with you here. Spidey was the original teenage superhero. Besides, how would they set up lizzard if he is not in college.

    Personal Struggles/Inside the Life of Peter Parker- Number 3 completely cheated us out of the death of gwen stacey, that could have worked out great. Again, go back to spidey 2…it went into how hard it was to maintain 2 identities well.

    THE DEATH OF AUNT MAY- I should kill you for just suggesting that. I know, have her fall in love with ock like in the comics 😉

    A Darker, Grittier New York- What is great about spiderman is that tragic dark things can happen to him, but it can do it without going into the dark places TDK took you. I heartily disagree!

  4. earlman27 said,

    Well, you’re entitled to your opinion, I’m entitled to mine. This is how I think the world should be crafted for the next film, even if it resembles Gotham City a little. I think Aunt May’s death would be great, as would an older peter parker. This is how I imagine the series progressing.

  5. dragonshensi said,

    This is Spider-Man Earl, not Batman. No offense, besides the villians thing, I would hate it if any of these ideas made it to the film. Spider-Man needs to follow it’s own path, not Batman’s.

  6. The James said,

    thank you DS.

  7. nolanator said,

    I agree with DS. Spider-Man is alright as it is.

Leave a Reply

