The Comedy Night HAS Been Done Right

March 5, 2009 at 9:40 pm (Television)

This is kinda one of those ramble posts again. If you don’t wanna read it, don’t. Don’t complain, just move on and read something else. I was tired of seeing Samuel L. Jackson every time I pulled up Safari, so I decided I’d post something new. For a few years now I’ve tuned in every night to a little thing occasionally called the “Comedy Night Done Right”, which features a classic lineup of My Name is Earl, Kath and Kim, The Office, and 30 Rock. While I never really cared for Kath and Kim, the rest of the lineup is well worth any comedy fan’s time. I have a conversation with my chemistry teacher every day about the new episodes of The Office and 30 Rock. One of the great things about the lineup is the sheer diversity. My Name is Earl shows off slapstick humor with a message, The Office is more of a documentary spoof with dryer but funnier humor, and 30 Rock rounds it up with smarter, more witty humor with plenty of culture references. The main reason I wanted to post this tonight was b/c tonight’s episodes really surprised me as to how great they were. The Office had a really great Valentine’s Day (I know a little late) episode with a Lonely Hearts Convention, plus some awkward dining between couples, and some weird habits of Dwight. 30 Rock was especially hilarious with the constant references to Harry and the Hendersons, even tying it into the storyline. Just some great humor that I’ve come to love and expect on Thursday nights. I hope if you don’t get to see this great lineup, you’ll give it a try, or DVR it. So, basically, I just wanted to tip my hat to NBC for supplying a great lineup, and delivering the quality tonight. Thanks a bunch Jack Donaghuy.

2 Comments

  1. Patrick Glover said,

    I completely agree. It was 3 great episodes in a row of My Name is Earl, The Office, & 30 Rock. My Name is Earl was outstanding tonight in my opinion.

  2. earlman27 said,

    I got to see the tail end (durka durka) of My Name is Earl. It was pretty good. 30 Rock really stood out in my mind though.

Leave a Reply

