Wanted Review

March 10, 2009 at 1:05 pm (Movies)

After seeing this, I’m convinced I could be a butt-kicking assassin. One of last year’s biggest summer movies for the older audiences (humorously sharing an opening weekend with Wall E) was Wanted, and, as it astounded many others, I was blown away by the sleek and stylized action, unpredictably engrossing story, and excellent style and cast. The story follows Wesley Gibson (James McAvoy), a guy that, quite frankly, is sick of his life. He has to put up with a loud mouthed stressful boss, a cheating girlfriend, and he just doesn’t really know where or who he is. That is until Fox (Angelina Jolie) comes to him and recruits him into The Fraternity, a league of assassins restoring balance to a chaotic world, led by none other than Sloan (Morgan Freeman). Soon Wesley is on a mission to track down his father’s murderer and avenge his death, all the while proving himself in his new lifestyle. I have to admit, I actually quite liked this movie, more than I thought I would after DS’s disrecommendation. Wherein he hated the super-stylized, frequent slow motion action and overall feel to the movie, I loved it. That’s really what hooked me into the movie. Here you have this club of super sleek assassins, a whole movie about training this guy into their ways, so it really only

 makes sense to have a super sleek, super violent style. Plus it’s really cool to see his Wesley’s former co worker get home-rowed in slow motion with swear words being spelled out in the keys. As far as the swearing goes, I didn’t like it, but it didn’t ruin the movie for me. I would have preferred if there weren’t 80 F words in the movie, but I just stopped noticing them after the first few, and it didn’t really bother me as much.

Another great thing about the movie is the highly engrossing story. Seeing Wesley change from office cubicle loser to super cool assassin in a 1 1/2 hour timeline is well-noticeable through the movie, and is a blast to watch as he starts kicking tail and taking names. It has to be the coolest transformation I’ve seen since Optimus Prime. Each of the assassins (or divisions of the Fraternity) had somewhat of a unique personality that made them different-The Repairman, Sloan, Fox, The Russian, etc. While throwing all of this epic action at you, there’s much more than meets the eye lying underneath. The movie also did a great job at diversifying the action. There’s plenty of different locations and locales to head to, to well, killpeople. It’s not just the stuffy old buildings or warehouses. This isn’t just a bland shooter, a lot of time and effort went into making this movie fresher, more stylized and more refreshing, most of all, fun to watch. The cast is also great to see on screen. You’ve got Angelina Jolie whom I’m convinced could kill me with her eyes, James McAvoy who is great for the part, and Morgan Freeman, who plays the head honcho well. If it wasn’t for the all the swearing, I might have given this a perfect score. There were times that I, well, Wanted Wanted to stay in some areas longer (the training especially) and move from others more, but I was still very glad I rented it. Wanted is a stylish, slo-mo laden film that will keep any action junkie wanting more, and will provide a super-violent, engrossing, often hilarious, and jaw-dropping 2 hours for any older movie fan. 

4 1/2 out of 5

4 Comments

  1. darkcloak said,

    This was an ok movie. Not a 4 1/2 in my opinion though.

  2. earlman27 said,

    I thought it was worth that. I really enjoyed it. I might could have went with a 4, but I felt it deserved a 4 1/2.

  3. nolanator said,

    I want to see this.

  4. earlman27 said,

    It was pretty good. You’d probably like it Nolan.

Leave a Reply

