Quick Review-Semi Pro & Chuck and Larry

March 12, 2009 at 11:47 am (Movies)

 

Yea, these are older movies, but my movie store was running a 2 for 1 deal, so I decided to give these two movies a try. But since they’re older, I’m not gonna write a full long review unless I feel like it. I decided to rent the Will Ferrell basketball comedy Semi Pro and the Kevin James/Adam Sandler teamup, I Now Pronounce You Chuck and Larry. 

Semi Pro-Overall, pretty funny movie. Will Ferrell plays the somehow loveable oaf Jackie Moon in this one, and is pretty much the bright spot of the comedy alongside some really funny stuff from Will Arnett and Andy Richter. Really, this movie lost a lot of steam in spots (especially when Ferrell isn’t on screen), had some really funny moments and 70s nostalgia,but couldn’t keep the funny up throughout the movie to constitute a rent unless you’re a diehard Ferrell fan.-3 1/2 out of 5

I Now Pronounce You Chuck and Larry-Probably my favorite of the two, the plot’s in the title. They pretend to be gay so they can get the benefits for the kids. Kevin James and Adam Sandler are a great combo, along with the rest of a great comedic team-Dan Akroyd, Tim Blake, Keith Swandson, etc. One thing DS mentioned was that the gay stuff’s too strong, I went into it thinking it wouldn’t bother me, to be honest, it did. I really really enjoyed the movie, thought it was really funny, but it’s hard to fully commit to a movie when you don’t fully agree with the message it’s blaring at you the whole time. Sometimes I got past it and enjoyed the movie, other times I was just too uncomfortable with it to sit still. However, if you’re a comedy fan or Sandler/James fan, it’s worth your money.-4 out of 5

3 Comments

  1. nolanator said,

    Chuck and Larry was ok, but I think Semi-Pro was one of Ferrell’s worsts.

  2. earlman27 said,

    Compared to movies like Blades of Glory and Talladega Nights, this is a funeral.

    Chuck and Larry I thought was pretty good, it was just too pro-gay.

  3. nolanator said,

    Blades of Glory, Anchorman, Step Brothers, and Talladega Nights are Will Ferrell’s bests.

Leave a Reply

