Race to Witch Mountain Review

March 15, 2009 at 8:34 pm (Movies)

What? You want me to race to which mountain? Sorry, I couldn’t resist making that joke. The newest Disney live-action-family-friendly-adventure-WITH THE ROCK is now in theaters, and to be honest, I was pleasantly surprised. The story follows Jack Bruno (the reason I didn’t forget it is b/c the girl says it like 500 times) a.k.a. Dwayne Johnson, a reluctant taxi driver to two children. Who, unannounced to him, are alien children trying to get back to their ship buried in Witch Mountain. It’s a very simple plot any 9 year old can follow but had me a little confused at times (maybe it was b/c i was trying to empty out my Buncha Crunch box). At first I really thought this wasn’t going to be that good of a movie (I even brought my Ipod in with me), but I was actually pretty entertained by it. The movie provides a steady impulse of action throughout the movie. It wasn’t that goofy action, it almost reminded me of National Treasure, which was a really good vibe it gave off. The excitement and action (especially in chase sequences) is enough to keep any parent or kid zoned in, but don’t expect any Watchmen bone cracking in here. I was also really digging the cast choices in this movie. Dwayne Johnson is pretty cool and does his best to be a cool action hero, and he succeeds. Anna Sophia Robb is cool as the little action heroine, Carla Gugino (who was Silk Spectre 1 in last week’s Watchmen might I hilariously point out), and so is the rest of the cast. I also really enjoyed the appearances by Cheech as a mechanic and Gary Marshall (my new role model) as a sci-fi nerd. There were certain times that I felt they could have explained some of the characters a little more (I didn’t really know anything about the two kids). There were also a few

 times it felt a little too generic, that they could have made it a little more interesting. This is pretty much the definition of family friendly classic fun Disney movie. You’ve got your hooking story, funny moments, and a great sci-fi time at the movies completely worth your 7 bucks. I honestly cannot discrecommend this movie. I can, however, with a perfectly good conscience recommend this movie to any big sci-fi fan that has a good sense of the kid in him, or has kids. If you’re a casual fan of science fiction or adventure, or into movies like National Treasure, and you go into this with an open mind like I did, you’ll be sure to enjoy this.

4 out of 5

9 Comments

  1. darkcloak said,

    I liked the film. Don’t know about buying it though.

  2. earlman27 said,

    I’m not 100% sure on buying it either. If they have a good set of special features I’ll probably buy it.

  3. The James said,

    “any big sci-fi fan that has a good sense of the kid in him”
    THATS ME!

    I plan on for to be renting this!

  4. earlman27 said,

    I might should have mentioned that like die-hard sci-fi guys may not be into it, but it’s more slanted towards casual sci-fi people. You should like it though.

  5. nolanator said,

    I want to see this.

  6. BabCom5 said,

    Just another stepping stone towards creative entropy. Disney like all the other film companies out there have no more originality. It is just sequels and remakes. This movie is a re-imagining of the earlier Disney Witch Mountain films. Escape from Witch mountain, Return to Witch Mountain and Beyond Witch Mountain (Which happens to feel like a remake of the first movie with a similar feeling plot). Witch Mountain was a book before the films.

  7. Iggy said,

    I feel uncomfortable about “The Rock” being referred to by his real name. He made a life choice a long time ago and he should stick with it.

  8. earlman27 said,

    That doesn’t mean this can’t be an enjoyable movie. Besides, there’s plenty of creativity in movies nowadays. There’s always been remakes, adaptations, etc. But then again there’s plenty of new IPs out there today.

  9. The James said,

    I THOUGHT THE TITLE SOUNDED FAMILIAR!!!

Leave a Reply

