Bolt Review

March 25, 2009 at 8:41 pm (Movies)

I wonder if it would be possible to procure a hamster named Rhino that behaved just like his movie counterpart? One can only hope. The newest film from Disney to compete with the likes of Pixar and it’s many animated classics, Bolt, has now hit DVD, and I had a chance to see it. While it’s not up to par with the likes of WALL E or even Monsters Inc., it’s still a pretty fun time. The story is a really nice mix of creativity and straight-forwardness. Bolt is an action hero on one of America’s biggest television shows, but he thinks it’s all real. That is, until he is tossed into the real world, gets lost, and must make it back to his “person”. Along the way he meets and teams up with a cat and his biggest fan, Rhino the hamster. Rhino had to be my favorite part of the movie. His one-liners and antics had me rolling in my seat. The voice acting in the movie is pretty well done. John Travolta is really great as Bolt, Rhino’s voice is spot on, and I even enjoyed hearing Malcolm Macdowell, Keith in his own parts in the film. The movie also had some really great animation to it, some really life-like CGI. Some say it’s the likes to challenge Pixar, but I still think Disney’s got a little while to go before they reach Pixar’s unbelievable animation. The story however, is something I could see Pixar doing. I went into this movie thinking that I wasn’t going to like it. I was wrong on that, however I was right thinking that a lot of this movie was going to be really kid-oriented. I’ll admit, there were several times when I did laugh and I did think the jokes were funny (trailer park scene, rhino, the pigeons), however most of the time the jokes kinda went under me. The jokes weren’t as everyguy-oriented as some of Pixar’s movies. If you are or have a kid, they’ll love this, most of the jokes just didn’t come off to me though. Also sometimes I kinda lost some of my interest in the plot or the movie. It may sound like this movie isn’t worth your time, but believe me it is. I enjoyed this movie, and it was well worth the $2.50 I spent for it, it’s just not “buy” material. For those of you wondering, this is how my animated movie chart goes-

  1. Pixar
  2. Disney Animation
  3. Dreamworks (Sorry, Kung Fu Panda didn’t make up for Over the Hedge’s mistakes.)

Anyway, to wrap things up, this is a good movie. This is a great achievement for Disney Animation as they’re getting a foot into the door as far as getting a great animated movie out there that has some great visuals, some hilarious moments for the kids, and a great, memorable story. It may not be the best animated movie out there, and it may not appeal as much to the older crowds, but is still a great rent for casual movie fans, or kids/people with kids. 

4 out of 5

3 Comments

  1. nolanator said,

    I thought this movie was alright, but I’ve seen better.

  2. The James said,

    1. I loved Mystery Science Theatre’ing this film.
    2. Rhino is awesome
    3. I liked over the hedge

  3. earlman27 said,

    I had seen it before when ya’ll saw it, so I just hit the PS3 and was being a horrible hero in Web of Shadows. After watching Monsters vs. Aliens I like this movie less.

    Also, I still don’t like Over the Hedge.

Leave a Reply

