Yes Man Review

April 9, 2009 at 9:59 pm (Movies)

I’m gonna have to say “yes” to this one. The comedy Yes Man may not have blown me away, but it is definitely worth the time of any fan of silly comedies, or especially a fan some of Jim Carrey’s work. You literally don’t have to know anything but the title to understand the premise of this movie. Carl Allen (Jim Carrey) says no to literally everything in his life, including moving forward in his job or being daring enough to have a good time. That is until he goes to a seminar on Yes Men, people that say yes to everything, hilariously led by Terence Howard, who movie fans might recognize from one of my favorite comedies of 08, Get Smart. The basic premise is that ol’ Jim has to do all these crazy things because he’s promised he’ll say yes forever! The movie is pretty funny, I laughed quite a few times pretty much just at Carrey’s goofball antics we’ve come to know him for. Almost all the zany situations involving Carrey do something out of his element for laughs can be hysterical at times (the guitar scene immediately standing out as my favorite), even if you’ve already seen 97% of them in the trailer (I have a bone to pick with trailer editors…). If you relax and let the silly fun ooze and infect your mind (in the good way) you can and will enjoy this movie. Just seeing Jim and his buds hang out and take advantage of his covenant made for some of my favorite scenes. There’s really not much to say about this movie, just besides that it’s a really funny and enjoyable comedy. I did feel that they could have went a little more out with it, I could kinda tell it was a Winter comedy. Also some of the time Jim Carrey plays a little too thin, sometimes he’s trying too hard to be funny, other times he’s just expecting you to laugh when he makes a funny face. The romance in the movie is pretty sweet, Zooey Deschannel is pretty hot, even though Jim Carrey kinda looks like a pedophile with her. Hey, at least he’s a funny pedophile, the kinda that will make you laugh before making you take off your pants. This is just one of those movies you can’t put too much thought into. I really enjoyed this movie, I won’t buy it, but I really liked it, and I thought it was worth my moderately-hard-earned $2.50. So if you like Jim Carrey or silly humor, or just fun movies, Yes Man is 100% worth a rent. (See I went without making a “yes” pun at the end.) This is just one of those guaranteed fun time movies.

4 out of 5

5 Comments

  1. nolanator said,

    I love this movie.

  2. earlman27 said,

    I really enjoyed it about as much as I expected to. Based on its bare bones DVD, I won’t buy it. However I did find a 2 disc edition with some added features that I might pick up when the price goes down a little.

  3. The James said,

    it was pretty good

  4. nolanator said,

    I loved this movie and I love Jim Carrey.

  5. darkcloak said,

    Great movie.

Leave a Reply

