Knowing Review

April 16, 2009 at 4:02 pm (Movies)

If I could really rate movie based on their different parts, the beginning of Knowing would be a 4, the middle, a 5, then the ending, a 2. However, I can’t really do that, so I am forced to review this movie as a whole. I really wanted and expected to totally love this movie, seeing as I am a really big fan of Nicolas Cage and his numerous thriller/action/mystery movies like National Treasure. However, Knowing, thanks to an incredibly flawed ending and some strange pacing, fails to deliver that excitement set forth. The plot (which did have a lot of promise) follows Dr. John Koestler, a skeptical man about the fates of eternity, and his son when they stumble upon a 50 year old note foretelling all of the world’s major disasters that have occurred within the past 50 years. Each contains the date, number of causalities, and the latitude/longitude of the event. That is, except for 3 events which have yet to occur. John sets out to make it his mission to stop these events and figure out the mystery behind the events before it spells the end for the entirety of mankind. If you’re familiar at all with the feel of National Treasure and the way Nicolas Cage rushes from goal to goal to complete his goals, then there’s enough here of that for your money’s worth. Seeing Cage go from skeptic to obsessed believer is a believable transformation. It’s also really interesting and fun to see him go, do his Nicolas Cage thing, try to figure out the clues and save lives from these impending tragedies. The middle 1/2 of the movie (after the beginning and before the end) really had me hooked. You could almost label this as “Ben Gates vs. The Aliens and The Apocalypse”. The movie is also great, as stated earlier, at providing heart-pounding, edge of your seat action, the main three disaster sequences at best. From the horror scenes having Cage race to save his son, to seeing him pleading to save lives with this clairvoyance, Proyas knows how to entertain. It can almost reach the level of summer movie action. To add onto that, the movie also had a really strong story, that is almost entirely believable. I was sitting in the theater, thinking to myself “this could really happen”. Knowing the director, Alex Proyas, who also directed I, Robot, you can sorta tell that he made this movie as well. However wherein I, Robot was a really good movie that had a really good and shocking ending, Knowing’s ending is shocking, but is nowhere near as strong. I won’t spoil the ending for anyone, however it almost ruins the movie. There is a state of mind where I see that it could make sense, but there must have been so many other, so many OTHER BETTER IDEAS for them to use instead of the ones that they did for the end. It’s almost like you get this really great setup and buildup for an ending, then it all just falls apart in the last 20 minutes. If you’re a big fan of Nicolas Cage like me, this isn’t a wasted trip to the theater, or even a wasted rent. There’s enough heart pounding action and mystery in the first 3/4 of the movie to justify seeing it on DVD for the casual thriller fan or seeing it in theaters for the fans of National Treasure, but I’d almost suggest leaving the theater, or silently turning off the DVD player for the ending. Let your own mind create an ending for the movie. 

4 out of 5

3 Comments

  1. darkcloak said,

    Would you recommend it? I think I might at least rent it

  2. earlman27 said,

    I think the first 3/4 are worth the rent. The ending though is pretty bad, but it doesn’t quite ruin the movie. I’d rent it personally.

  3. nolanator said,

    I thought about seeing this, but I saw I Love You, Man instead.

Leave a Reply

