The Curious Case of Benjamin Button Review

May 6, 2009 at 8:18 pm (Movies)

Whilst watching the award-laden extravaganza The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, multiple questions came to mind: How much makeup did they have to use? Why does that old man sound just like Brad Pitt? Why is this movie so boring? The movie starts back in 1918, at the end of “The Great War”. Little does the world know, a child is being born, his name is Benjamin Button, and he looks like he should be hosting the Price is Right. Over the next 80 years, Benjamin Button reverse ages, from old to young, whilst watching all of his friends, loved ones, and family age normally, and of course, die. He goes through the years falling in love with his childhood sweetheart, goes to war in the Navy under Captain Mike, and lives under the house of Queenie. The movie really does have a great story going for it. In case you didn’t catch the vibes, it felt very Forrest Gump-ish. I thought the concept, originality, and story of the movie was one of its best features. The whole movie is told from the journal of Benjamin on the deathbed of his former love interest, which created some better drama towards the end of the movie when some personal stories and family mysteries begin to unravel. The performances in the movie are also really good. I was surprised at how convincing Brad Pitt’s portrayal of Benjamin Button  was. He wasn’t just Brad Pitt, he became Benjamin Button. Cate Blanchett is pretty good as Daisy, Jared Harris is strong as Captain Mike, but Taraji P. Henson takes the cake as Queenie. The drama in the movie was pretty choice stuff. I’ll admit I almost got choked up a few times like when Queenie died or when you start to realize the internal struggle Benjamin is going through as he is forced to live life backwards. The movie’s special effects were also top-notch. However, the main area this movie struggled with me was the fact that it got down right boring sometimes. Let’s see… Slower than John Goodman’s metabolism. WAIT! Slower than the lines at the DMV. NO I’VE GOT BETTER! Slower than The Blob’s heartrate! Point is, this movie got very very slow in some spots. I was playing with the zoom feature to keep myself entertained. I just got really really bored with this movie. It wouldn’t have been so bad if it wasn’t 3 hours long! Also, half the movie is taken in these incredibly dark shots, so I couldn’t really tell who was who in a lot of the scenes. Like Knowing, I’d like to grade this movie in parts. Beginning to the war is best, middle’s the most boring hour of my life, ending was better. I can see where people are coming from when they say they loved this movie. It has the makings to be a great movie to some, however to me it simply went way too slow during certain segments to capture my focus throughout the entire movie and make me fully engrossed by the movie and to love it. I expected to love this movie, and I started to blind buy it. The Curious Case of Benjamin Button has an excellent premise that I liked a lot and very promising first hour that I also liked a lot, but takes itself far too seriously, and failed to keep my interest throughout the next 2 hours (Yea it’s a LONG movie) to constitute it worth a rent, unless you’re a BIG fan of the genre or Brad Pitt. 

3 1/2 out of 5

2 Comments

  1. darkcloak said,

    I might rent it.

  2. earlman27 said,

    You might enjoy it. Something just tells me you won’t finish it.

Leave a Reply

