Ah Yes, The Dreaded Scholarship Application…

May 19, 2009 at 10:09 pm (The Way Earl Sees It)

Yea, this is kind of a rant, but it’s my site, so deal with it, I need to get this off my chest. Any way, next week I have been “honored” with  being able to participate in the State BoysState, which is where they take two guys from every school (one’s real the other’s an alternate) and then they place you in hell. Anyway, I’m kinda dreading it, but that’s just b/c I didn’t know it was kind of a military thing. Plus I’ve heard some bad stories. Anyway if I don’t come back James gets all my Wii Games… But as part of the appointment, I get the honor of getting to fill out the Samsung American Legion Scholarship Application. Now I understand the process of scholarships. It’s free money, but you want to kill yourself before you finish them…. Right, right right…. I’ve been filling this jesse out all day. The first page is filled with the basic info, and that’s the easy part. Then my Talent Search coordinator somewhere is laughing her tail off b/c she told me to write all my community service down exactly, but I didn’t. This satanic hole of a paper asks me to lists all the hours I’ve been active in a club, their activities, 5 national accolades (yea that makes me feel stupid-BLANK) 5 local accolades (yea that makes me feel real stupid-Make up crap and the rest is second best). What my parents do, how old my sisters is, why I can’t pay for college (i’m not frickin Bill Gates’ kid), my most significant accomplishment, and of course, what I do in my spare time. So I’ve had to wrestle with just being able to fill it out all day long, and now I still have stuff left to fill out on it before I have to take it all back and have my guidance counselour (Who I’m sure is ready to strangle the life out of me) re-fill out her part and re-fill the part where she says I’m in 6th place for my class. Oh the joys of being 6th Best. This form also kinda reminded me of all I’ve done in high school. It’s kind of a mixed array. On one hand I’m proud of all my accomplishments, there’s the other that thinks I should/ should still have done/do more, then there’s the part that really thinks I should have wrote it all down. (Writing the biggest achievement was a toughy.) SO YEA, I’m gonna be filling out a lot of these in the next year, so I might as well start recording my community service and try to remember, and maybe, just maybe, start listening to my instructors…..

2 Comments

  1. The James said,

    so happy I did not have to mess with one of those for my scholarship….but then there’s the FAFSA…..

  2. earlman27 said,

    Well the scholarship was just for Boys State guys… It was $20,000 and I did not win… So that kinda sucks that I went through all that to be forced off the stage and program when I tried to steal the plaque….

Leave a Reply

