Hands-On with Batman: Arkham Asylum

May 20, 2009 at 9:56 pm (Video Games)

This Pic Pretty Much Describes the Demo...

To be a little clearer, I didn’t get to play the story mode, however I did however get a feel for one of the most insanely fun and fluidly brutal combat mechanics I’ve seen for a video game in some of the combat arenas. I walked into Gamestop today, and there before me is a demo for some of the combat sections of Arkham Asylum, and I was blown away. Basically Batman is thrown into rooms full of henchmen devised by the Joker himself (voiced brilliantly by Mark Hammil) who is coordinating these events and narrating your success/defeat. Basically combat works like so-Each enemy that comes at you will try to kill you, of course. Batman is super-vulnerable to attacks, which is mainly b/c as you later realize you shouldn’t be being hit. Every enemy that comes at you will flash blue, kinda like a spidey sense. But instead of dodging, you break their arm. Each attack is rendered brutally (expect an M), and the animations are superb, even if a little repetitive. Once I got the swing of combat, I was dodging attacks, countering every move with devastating force, and clearing out rooms with incredibly fun, fluid, and increasingly difficult combat. It never really felt like a chore, instead I simply came to feel more and more like Batman. His attacks behave incredibly similar to those in the movies, and are fun to pull off. He takes on one enemy at a time with brutal force, and is able to counter each attack and dodge the rest. Pretty soon, I had cleared a room of ten or so armed henchmen, and the demo was over. I simply cannot wait to get my hands on the rest of this awesome game, and urge my fellow gamers to run to a Gamestop to check this demo out.

2 Comments

  1. darkcloak said,

    I’m definitely getting this when it comes out.

  2. The James said,

    need to try….

Leave a Reply

