Brilliant Watchmen Marketing Strategy

July 21, 2009 at 4:05 pm (Movies, Weapons of Mass Enjoyment)

In case you didn’t know, I took a liking to the film Watchmen that came out about 4 months ago. So I was a little more excited today after taking a trip up to my doctor when I got to run by the local Target (thanks by the way Target for having impeccable facilities and a great up-to-date stock of movies) and pick up my surprisingly cheap ($22.99) Director’s Cut of Watchmen (with lenticular casing!). There was also this other guy that I met entering the store (by met I mean brushed by and was stared at awkwardly) who was on the same mission I was. The thing is with nerds and nerd movies, they’re more than happy to talk before and after the theater experience on the first go-run, but on second viewing on DVD/Blu-Ray, that’s me-time. This guy was on a mission. Anywho, I briskly walked back to the DVD section (I had a major geek moment when my heart started racing as I rounded corners), where my eyes met my DVD. Long story short I made it to the front of the store and purchased my copy. However, once I made it home to actually re-watch the movie, things turned south. After wrestling with the plastic wrap, my eyes met an ultimate horror. Inside the box (as in you could only see it once you had bought the DVD), there was a slip of paper saying quote

“OWN THE ULTIMATE WATCHMEN EXPERIENCE!!! AVAILABLE THIS HOLIDAY, LIMITED TIME ONLY!!! ULTIMATE EDITION LOADED WITH TALES OF THE BLACK FREIGHTER AND EXTRA SCENES ADDED INTO THE MOVIE, EXTRA COMMENTARIES, AND UNDER THE HOOD!!!”

Needless to say, there were shouts of rage. Don’t get me wrong, I love my copy of Watchmen, and by all means, that will be the last version of the film I buy. First, this is an incredibly sick thing to do that you don’t advertise this openly, but instead you hide it so that people will buy two versions of the movie. Granted, I did know about the possiblility of another release, but I didn’t know if it was a done deal or not. Also, I don’t know about anyone else, but although Watchmen’s a great movie, at 3 hours and 5 minutes, the running time is very very steep. Once you add in even more scenes AND The Black Freighter, this jessie’s gonna go past 4 hours. I personally believe Zack Snyder hit the mark when he shot for a 2 1/2 hour time. 4 hours is a commitment! Sure, it would be a very complete viewing experience, but at what cost? There goes your afternoon. Anyway, just wanted to vent some anger there, perfectly happy with my copy, if the price goes down to say $20 for the new one, I might upgrade, but until then I’m staying put.

*Also I finally didn’t close my eyes during the scene where Rorschach buries the hatchet in the rapist’s head, and I nearly threw up. Yep, that’s how I spent my afternoon.

2 Comments

  1. The James said,

    I am sorry, but I can’t help but laugh a little at your misfortune. This is exactly how I felt when I bought Rouge Squadron 2 for $24 at one store, then 10 min later, I saw Rouge Squadron 3 for $20. I was so mad.

    To add insult to injury, a couple years later I traded it in at gamespot and bought Rouge Squadron 3..turns out, the third is no where near as good as the second, and now I miss my older copy.

    (Oh, and in case you did not know, Rouge Squadron is a star wars spaceship game)

  2. earlman27 said,

    Right lol. I did plan on holding out for the ultimate edition, but wasn’t really patient enough. That and I wasn’t sure on if they were actually doing it. Oh well, unless it’s uber-cheap, I’m not upgrading. I was laughing too, but I’m satisfied with my purchase. The features on the second disc, plus the mind blowing extra footage kept me happy.

Leave a Reply

