Top Ten Films of 2010 So Far…

May 19, 2010 at 9:20 pm (Movies, Top Ten)

The year is nearly half-way through, and I figured it appropriate to start naming off my Top Ten films of the year so far before we entered fully into the Summer movie season. Given, one or two of the films in this list are from the Summer season, however it still fits into the criteria (sort of). Plus it’ll be interesting at the end of the year if this really changes that much.

  1. Shutter Island-This film has really stuck with me over time, and I truly can’t wait for its DVD release. Nearly 3 months after seeing it I still ponder it’s message and what it really meant. This really has the best chance at staying #1.-5 out of 5
  2. How to Train Your Dragon 3D-This movie filled me with that childhood wonder again, and was one of the best animated films I’ve seen in quite a while (and by a while I mean since I saw Princess and the Frog).-5 out of 5
  3. Iron Man 2-This film delivered some harrowingly fun, awesome action set pieces, improved on everything that was good and fun about the first Iron Man in terms of scale  even though it lost some of that storytelling power.-4 1/2 out of 5
  4. Date Night-This movie really knocked away my expectations as it had me rolling with tears in my eyes from laughter from some of the wonderfully hilarious, family-friendly hi-jinks.-4 out of 5
  5. The Losers-A destined to be cult classic film that really proved me wrong by being hilarious, action-packed, and dared to be different.-4 out of 5
  6. Nightmare on Elm Street-This film, while lashed by many, completely satisfied me in terms of a psychological horror fun ride. –4 out of 5
  7. Robin Hood-Sure it’s a little slow and unfocused, but there are still some great moments to be had in Ridley Scott’s latest epic.-4 out of 5
  8. Kick-Ass- Although it did disappoint in terms of the story, it still delivered a really fun time with some great writing and action that I enjoyed.-4 out of 5
  9. The Wolfman-The makers of this film really reminded me of what horror used to be in a really fun, interestingly campy B-movie.-4 out of 5
  10. Alice in Wonderland-There are some great moments in this movie from Johnny Depp and the rest of the gang even if Tim Burton overshadowed it a little bit.-4 out of 5
2 Comments

  1. The James said,

    how many films have you seen this year?

    Oh well, Losers and Iron Man were epic!

  2. earlman27 said,

    I’ve seen 16 films so far this year in the theater if my counting was correct.

Leave a Reply

