Best of Times/Worst of Times for Nintendo

June 15, 2010 at 6:21 pm (Video Games)

Let me say this, I am “happy” with “Nintendo’s Conference”. 95% of the conference was great for me, and they really blew their audience (including me) away. The crew brought out some amazing looking titles that really satisfied the inner-hardcore-fanboy in me, in fact almost the entire conference was a payoff to fans like me, there was only a title or two that really felt like the sledgehammer to the gonads. All these titles that many hadn’t even considered were there and completely took me by surprise, and the real “unveiling” of the 3DS was amazing. It’s just the one or two titles that we really did expect and knew was going to be there were flat-out disappointments, no bones about it. So here’s sort of a frame by frame analysis. (Zelda Story in another post.)

  • Mario Sports-This title wasn’t incredibly impressive to me, it sorta seems like a sport version of Mario Party. It could be fun, but it then again it’s nothing that really gets me excited.
  • Kirby’s Epic Yarn-Possibly one of the best titles, this one looks really great and could be a really creative-Little Big Planet-esque adventure that’s due out by this holiday.

Other titles shown included-

  • Donkey Kong Country Returns
  • GoldenEye
  • Kid Icarus Uprising
  • A Lot of 3DS Titles Were Brought Up, and some great showing off of the new platform
  • Metroid Other M
  • NBA Jam

Lots of other cool stuff, it was a really really neat conference aside from the disappointment or two. Nintendo is mostly back on its A Game, and could bring that hardcore fanbase back to Nintendo if they continue to prove to them they haven’t completely forgotten about them, and if what they showed to us at the conference today was any indication, they definitely haven’t.

3 Comments

  1. The James said,

    It was a great conference indeed. I’m going to have to spend the next 2 years saving up for a 3DS…I HATE the idea of the 3DS, but I love some of the titles coming out for it. Especially, the Ocarina Of Time Remake…I stat to drool just thinking about it….

  2. earlman27 said,

    Yeah I may just have to jump on the 3DS bandwagon whenever it’s released, which is going to be considerably hard to do if I’m a college student. I love the idea, I love the games being planned for it, I love the support it’s getting, but considering it’s gonna retail for probably around $300, that’ll be impossible to swing. Once college starts my “gaming life” will be the occasional PS2 round and Guitar Hero on the weekends, let’s just hope my roommates have good taste.

  3. KingreX32 said,

    Im looking forward to some of the 3DS titles, Resident Evil, Ridge Racer, Kid Icarus. Tjose really caught my attention. Kirbys Epic yarn is really something the visuals are very impressive and the gameplay reminds me of Super paper Mario. Golden Eye for Wii OMG!!!!! dont even get me started on that.

Leave a Reply

