Mike Phirman’s “The Very Last Songs I Will Ever Record Volume 1”

August 8, 2010 at 9:10 pm (Music)

I’m a big fan of stand up comedy, which is not evident at all because of how unfunny I am. I listen to a lot of podcasts about how stand up works, the different styles of comedy like improv, stand up, group, sketch, and what not including how to get started and how different great stand ups had gotten their starts. I’m a huge fan of comedians like Drew Carey, Chris Hardwick, Jim Gaffigan, Richard Pryor, Jerry Seinfeld, Weird Al Yankovic, Craig Ferguson, and so many others. I remember growing up staying up super late in 4th Grade to watch the improv comedy show “Who’s Line is it Anyway?” and being one of the few comedy nerds that would rush into school to talk to my other comedy nerd friend about the previous night’s episode. There were some nights my Dad would fall asleep on the couch and I’d watch SNL on Saturday nights. That’s an entirely different post though, neither here nor there. The main point of this post is to promote the work of a great comedy musician, the “Phirm” of the band “Hard ‘n’ Phirm”, Mike Phirman. The guy is incredibly funny from what I’ve heard of his stuff, and he’s released a new album, “The Very Last Songs I Will Ever Record, Volume 1”. I’ve owned the album for about 3 months now and I absolutely love it, I’ve listened to it countless times, and you should give it a listen. The best part is, the album is absolutely FREE. Donations are appreciated though for Mike’s family and the expenses of running his career. The album is comedy music, so all the songs are in music form with Mike singing, playing guitar, piano, and all the other instruments on different layers of audio formed together. Weird Al Yankovic pops in for one of the tracks too. The album is almost entirely clean for those wondering, a slur of bad language or too, but none of it would make you embarassed to listen to with your grandma. Click here to download the album, and click here to visit Mike’s homepage.

2 Comments

  1. The James said,

    Wow, free comedy. Bookmarked the link. This will be great for those long commutes to and fro college.

    btw, I believe you are a very funny person.

  2. earlman27 said,

    Awesome, and if you like his stuff on the album he occasionally spotlights on the Live episodes of the nerdist podcast with Chris Hardwick. They do some great stuff.

    Thank you btw.

Leave a Reply

