Weezer’s Hurl-ey-ing Out A New Album

August 24, 2010 at 7:38 pm (Music)

*First off, I’d like to point out this is my first post on my new Macbook. I really love this thing, it works beautifully, it sounds great for my songs in iTunes, and looks great with the beautiful screen and the backlit keyboard. If it wasn’t for Freed Hardeman University (and my incredible parents paying for my education and their tremendous support) I wouldn’t have it though, so my hat goes off to you, institution furnishing my education.

Anywho, this is a small post to give a shoutout to one of my favorite bands, Weezer. The band has been putting out albums for little over a decade now with several albums, ranging from their punk rock roots to their newer style of “we’re writing stupid lyrics and stupid songs just to spite you!” Personally, I love the new style, as it gives the band a newer, nerdier vibe. Some of the lyrics in the songs make no sense and border on comedic (“Your mom cooked meatloaf even though I don’t eat meat I dug you so much I took some for the team”). They’re by far my biggest guilty pleasure when it comes to music, it’s not “good” music, but when it comes to music that’s pretty darn fun it’s hard to beat. Their newest album, Hurley, is possibly their biggest example yet of spitting in the face of musical critics. The album is named after the LOST character Hurley, and the cover of the album (pictured above) is just a portrait of his face, no words needed or utilized. The album is setting a great tone so far (and so are some of the track names available like “Where’s My Sex?” and “All My Friends Are Insects”) and I can’t wait to listen to even more of it than I have. The unofficial anthem for the World Cup released by the band “Represent” was pretty awesome, and so is their newest single, “Memories”, which I just picked up off the iTunes Store. If you’ve never checked out the band, give them a shot if you’re in the mood for something more alternative, and it’s definitely something that can pick up your spirits in the middle of traffic jams or even in a mid-afternoon workout. the new album releases September 14th.

4 Comments

  1. The James said,

    I may have to listen to this band soon. I heard a bit of that song you quoted when we were hanging out at the hasti-mart and I loved it.

  2. earlman27 said,

    I really need to let you borrow/rip my Weezer collection. I have a majority of their albums, which is sorta a lot since they’ve been around since the 90s. I’ve got the Blue Album (their first), Make Believe, some of Maladroit, The Red Album (My Personal Favorite), Raditude, and Hurley whenever it comes out. They’re re-releasing a remastered version of Pinkerton (regarded as their best album) this fall that I’ll probably pick up and they’re gonna do an Odds and Ends album later on this year that I’m pretty excited for. The new album is supposed to be great, there’s a whole track where Cuomo replaces the word “socks” with “sex”, great stuff…

  3. The James said,

    sounds good

  4. The James said,

    btw, you know they are kinda parodied on homestarrunner:

    http://hrwiki.org/wiki/sloshy

    as soon as you said “we’re writing stupid lyrics and stupid songs just to spite you!” I immedetly thought of sloshy, so I looked it up on homestarrunner.com

    “The bassist looks strikingly similar to Patrick Wilson, the drummer of alternative rock band Weezer.”

Leave a Reply

