Other Uses For My Money Than Other M…

September 5, 2010 at 12:24 pm (Video Games)

I’m a college student. Money is what you would call “tight”. I’m currently attending a four year private university taking 15 credit hours making approximately $120 a month in my work study program, and praying to God I can make good enough grades to keep all the scholarships the state of Tennessee is lending me. So whatever time I get for entertainment, whether that’s film or video games or music, it has to be a wise investment for me. I have to know that I’m going to like something or have reasonable belief I’m going to enjoy a product before I get it. I can’t blind buy very many albums any more or films for that matter, because if I don’t enjoy or derive pleasure from that product, I’ve sort of lost that investment to what could have went to a textbook or helping something else for college. That being said, the entire reason I’m bringing this up comes from my trip through Wal-Mart last night. I was strolling through the electronics, and I came up on the display for Metroid: Other M. I had been looking forward to this game for some time, I remember when it was first announced and I had planned on buying it, that is until some less than friendly reviews were released by some of my favorite/most trusted sources like X-Play and Game Informer (I subscribe to Game Informer every month, and X-Play could be considered what got me into video games and journalism itself). The game’s trailers look amazing, and the game did get some pretty stellar reviews from IGN and Gamespot and other members of the gaming critique family, but investing $60 in a game is just a tough sell, especially when I’m unsure on the product to begin with, considering I’m in college. I love it when studios try new things and I wish all the luck in the world to this project and to other Nintendo projects in the future, but, even though it may be a stellar game, I won’t be trying it out until the price comes down significantly in a few months (I’m talking $20/$30), until one of my other Nintendo friends picks it up, or until my life is a little less college-y.

4 Comments

  1. The James said,

    I know the feeling, I am carefull about what I buy…

    that being said, I would like to but this in a few months if a good opportunity arises

  2. earlman27 said,

    Yeah, the commercials for it are epic, and I’ll probably pick it up when it gets cheap or put it on my Christmas list. The TRS guys were sorta mixed on it but the fact that both Gamespot/IGN liked it has me more interested…

  3. KingreX32 said,

    I would get Other M. Dispite the bad reviews from X-play. If I reviewed it i think I would get a few more views on my site.

  4. earlman27 said,

    I’ll probably get it eventually when it’s a lot cheaper, but I can’t help but notice both X Play’s, TRS’s, and Game Informer’s points about the games that I seem to notice I may have a problem with.

Leave a Reply

