Podcasts To Listen To

September 7, 2010 at 10:37 pm (Tech)

I drive a lot. Every weekend I take a 1 1/2 hour drive back and forth between college and home, and between that and a lot of down time at the dorm, it’s nice to have something to listen to aside from my regular music. Sometimes I like to learn about how comedy works or listen to a review of a new film. That’s where my favorite podcasts come in. In case you haven’t caught onto the podcast craze already, here are my favorite (aka the only ones I listen to) podcasts.

The /Filmcast-This is more of my go-to podcast for film news, the /Filmcast has a great structured format to it, exploring what the hosts Devindra Hardawar, Adam Quigley, and David Chen are currently watching, film news, and a dedicated film review everything week. The guys can become a little too pretentious sometimes, but the film does take great pride in being film geek glory. The podcast takes pride in the way film works, and it’s to be thanked in part for my love of film.

The Totally Rad Show-Possibly my favorite podcast, the TRS show is a great round up of all the newest things in pop culture, reviewing a film, video game, and usually a hodge podge of a game or activity every week. The guys have so much fun with their job it’s hard not to have fun with them.

Doug Loves Movies-Going a little more towards the comedy side of things, Doug Benson holds a semi-weekly live podcast show where he gets on some of my favorite current comedians and basically discusses movies and shares jokes and plenty of laughs. Every week there’s a general discussion that serves as a launchpad for jokes, and concludes in a rousing game of the Leonard Maltin game.

The Nerdist-Chris Hardwick, one of my favorite comedians, leads this podcast with his friends Jonah Ray and Matthew Mira take so much delight in their podcasting, it’s amazing to get to listen to. The podcast covers a variety of different topics that people “nerd out” over from the process of comedy, to music, to television and even film, having such stars as Paul F Tompkins, Jon Hamm, and the great Craig Ferguson. The show delights itself in exploring the world of nerd, in that people can be creative obsessives over anything. Plus, you can’t miss out on the live shows with Craig Ferguson and Adam Savage are not to be missed.

Pod F. Tompkast-I just started listening to this one, but it seems to be a neat exploration into the mind of one of my favorite comedians, Paul F Tompkins.

3 Comments

  1. The James said,

    I listened to the Weird Al nerdist podcast and it was pretty good, next stop: Stan Lee!

  2. earlman27 said,

    Yeah they get a tad bit rambly which i sorta like but it can be a little off putting. They can be pretty insightful at times.

  3. The James said,

    It was good, granted I did not laugh as much as I hoped to, but I did really enjoy it. I can’t wait to listen to the stan lee one

Leave a Reply

